'Mail' vs 'Thunderbird' & 'Safari' vs 'Firefox'

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by marcel-v, May 26, 2008.

1. marcel-v macrumors regular

I'm a relative noob, but can anyone please give some pros and cons for each and which are better or more secure for example?

2. italiano40 macrumors 65816

italiano40

This is what i use Mail with firefox
    mail
    -can easily use ical with
    -like the ToDo list function in it
    -I think tags in mail are better than thunderbird
    firefox
    -I use a lot of the extensions
    -It is slower than safari
    -can sync my bookmarks with boot camp partiton

3. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

ergdegdeg

Err? What?

4. italiano40 macrumors 65816

italiano40

it is true safari is faster than firefox 2, but in firefox 3 i heard it is the fastest browser

5. netnothing macrumors 68040

netnothing

6. varmit macrumors 68000

varmit

Yeah, but I have also heard of sqlite cache clearing problems that are effecting Linux boxes at the moment that possibly could effect OSX too.

I use Webkit, which you can get here, http://webkit.org/, which is the open source Safari that has new builds daily.

Has firefox gone OSX Native, or is Camino still considered the Native Firefox?

7. DaveF macrumors 6502a

Safari is more Mac-like and looks better.

Firefox has plug-ins, better features and does a better job with Tabs. (IMHO)

I used Thunderbird on the PC for two years and used it briefly in OS X during my Mac transition. I prefer Mail on the Mac to Thunderbird. I just find it easier, more attractive, and better designed.

8. bed macrumors member

I switched from Thunderbird on Windows, to using Mail on Mac, Mail is more polished on the edges, and more importantly integrates MUCH better with spotlight and time machine due to the way it stores its emails. Havn't regretted it one bit.

I use neither Safari or Firefox (although I have both installed for testing purposes). Opera 9.5 all the way.

9. steeler macrumors regular