Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Curious Cheese

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 19, 2011
Hello,
Does anybody know if there is a Mac (Snow Leopard) app that functions like MailWasher? Mailwasher allows you to view incoming message headers on your ISP's server and allows you to delete it without downloading it. Also has filters, etc and learning capabilities. It was great on my PC, but apparently not available for Mac.
Thanks

Curious Cheese

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 19, 2011
I scoured the web for 2 days and cannot find an app that allows me to look at headers and use filters. If I'm missing something here please tell me. I'm not an expert...far from it.
Thanks

davidlv

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2009
Kyoto, Japan
Try MyPopBarrier
http://tcfj.pagesperso-orange.fr/site/index.html
The site is in France but the software works in English, and allows you to apply filters to determine spam. hitting the right arrow key switches the color of the button for each highlighted mail, so you can purge just the red "spam" mail.
Has two types of filters, one for spam (red button), one for known good mail (green button).
Works fine for me.

Curious Cheese

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 19, 2011
Davidlv,
Thanks for the tip. I downloaded it and theory looks great. But I don't even know how to set it up to communicate with my default email account. I can't find a manual. Things like which port, SSL, etc are probably 2nd nature to people familiar with computers, but not me. I'm a physician and treating patients with pneumonia is easy for me, but most people would not know how. Now I'm the one who doesn't know how to make mypopbarrier work even though it may be easy for the computer literate.

davidlv

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2009
Kyoto, Japan
Davidlv,