Maintenence for a Macbook Pro that is starting to feel sluggish

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Robg54, May 6, 2008.

1. Robg54 macrumors member

My MBP has been feeling a little sluggish. It is relatively new, maybe 8-10 months old. I stll have Tiger, but will be upgrading to Leopard soon.

It feels like it has been slower than normal to open up programs lately. I have also been having some problems with my web browsers. (Firefox will sometimes just stop loading webpages graphics and will just show text.) I'm not sure if these are connected at all.

If I was still using a PC this is where I would erease any junk programs and like defrag the hard drive and stuff. Being as how I am a relative mac newbie I don't know what, if any, action I can take to keep it running like new. I checked the programs in the "Utilities" folder in applications, but didn't see anything that really seemed helpful.

Like I said, I am going to be installing Leopard (and I will be boot camping vista soon afterwards) and would much prefer to begin with a system that i running ship shape.

2. spooky mulder macrumors regular

get the program called "onyx" it works pretty well for me with cleaning/scripts and general maintenance.

3. squeeks macrumors 68040

squeeks

still dosenet hurt to reinstall every so often, if you're upgrading to leopard do a full install, how much ram do you have?

4. Robg54 thread starter macrumors member

I upgraded to 4gb:) It shoudn't be slow. Maybe I will do a fresh install. I'm just worried about getting everything I have over again. I guess it neednt be a worry...

I'll deff try Onyx. Thanks for the advice.

5. squeeks macrumors 68040

squeeks

just get leopard, its a pretty decent OS now that we're on .2, and .3 should be right around the corner

6. spooky mulder macrumors regular

no prob, let us know how it works.

7. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

You can also defrag your HDD. It helps a bit.