Major iMac issues! Help please

Discussion in 'iMac' started by skik210, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. skik210 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #1
    Yikes all of a sudden something is wrong with my iMac and I have no idea what is causing the issues or what I can do about it.

    The issue: constant freezing, sometimes the entire screen will go black and I can't do anything but power cycle, sometimes everything on the screen freezes and the mouse still moves but can still only do a power cycle, and sometimes the application I am using just unexpectedly quits on me. For some reason I am thinking it might be my graphics card as I sometimes get a greeline horizontally through a quicktime movie I am watching.

    When it happens: It seems like almost whenever it wants, but...more so when I am using Maya 2009, Photopshop, quicktime, or all three at the same time.

    What I have done - I have reset my PRAM, I have run AppleJack - the next step (when my new external 1TB arrives) is to back up my HD and start back up from scratch?

    if anyone has ANY suggestions at all I will greatly appreciate it!

    specs: 20" iMac OSX 10.4.11 2.33 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo. 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. Graphics: ATY,RadeonX1600

    Please help, and thanks
     
  2. supernet33 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #2
    I bet it is your logic bored, Apple said this is a knowin issue, go to your apple store and get it replaced for free
     
  3. skik210 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #3
    would this have been found in a Hardware Test? as I ran that and there were no issues
     
  4. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #4
    As mentioned above, it sounds like a Logic Board issue. Apple has acknowledged this problem and will replace your mac for free if you take it into a Apple retail store.
     
  5. skik210 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #5
    again - would this have been discovered in a hardware test? I did a hardware test and no issues or problems were found
     
  6. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #6
    I don't believe that it would be seen in a hardware test.
     

Share This Page