Major Problem with MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by noodle654, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #1
    I just got my MBA yesterday and today I started my updates and SL install. I just completed everything, and now whenever I click on ANYTHING, my Finder just crashes and restarts. I can't access my Console to see what is causing it. What is going on here?
     
  2. fluffyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #2
    Uhoh! Reinstall Snow Leopard.

    In the unlikely event that issues persist after reinstalling, call 800APLCARE for warranty service. If the computer is less than 2 weeks old, you are within the return policy.
     
  3. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #3
    I am working on a reinstall right now, using my MBP drive. It is taking a long time. I think it had to do with my SMC/BlueTooth updates. I had 11 updates and I think something went wrong. If there are any problems, I cant return it because MacMall doesnt accept returns for defective computers. Hopefully this isnt a big issue.
     
  4. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #4
    If you have a MBP, a bootable USB drive with SL on it takes way less time.
     
  5. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #5
    ALright, so I just reinstalled. 10.6 worked great, updated to 10.6.1 and it is BACK AGAIN!! Fans are stuck at 6200RPM.
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    That is common, SMC reset should clear that up. It happened to me as well as many others.
     
  7. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #7
    Yeah but Finder still isn't working. I am stuck here. I would prefer to not have to install again...
     
  8. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #8
    So I decided to just do another install again. It seems that 10.6.1 is causing the problem. However, I also have to do the MBA SMC update. Is it possible that since I am missing the SMC, 10.6.1 could be doing this. I cant open any programs, anything. Just the desktop.
     
  9. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #9
    Is this a brand new MBA as in you've never used it before?
     
  10. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #10
    Yes. I bought it from MacMall. Everything is brand new and it came with SL drop in disc. The hardware I dont think is the problem. I think it might be that I dont have the most recent SMC installed.
     
  11. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #11
    Did it come w. Leopard too?

    Did you put any data on it besides OS? From Migration Asst. say?
     
  12. alpinadvl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #12
    I got a new MBA 4 weeks ago with a SL drop in disc.... did all the updates (using 10.6.1 now).... and had no issues.

    I think your computer is the problem.

    It may need to be replaced.... and I would do that now, while it is a minor inconvenience than do it later when you are more dependent on it.

    alf
     
  13. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #13
    Yes it did, the OS discs for the Air have 10.5.6 on them. I didnt use MA, but I used my external to move over photos, music, documents, and SMCFancontrol.
     
  14. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #14
    At this point I'd return the thing. Feels like something is wrong.
     
  15. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #15
    I see. I would first load an OS with nothing else. Then get everything up to date software-wise. Then load other stuff.

    You very well may have put something on incompatible. BTW, how did you get them over without being able to use Finder?

    Remember, it will take quite a while for Spotlight to index so fans will blaze. Best to just let it finish.
     
  16. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #16
    I updated to 10.6 once I got the computer and it ran fine. There were no problems. Moved my stuff over, then I installed 10.6.1. I installed every update during 10.6 except 10.6.1 and SMC update.
     
  17. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #17
    So it was working fine under 10.6? Not DOA??

    I don't think you have a dead MBA. I'd be willing to bet you're putting something on that shouldn't be on.

    PRAM reset, SMC reset, reload software and updates.

    Then start moving things one piece at a time. SMCFancontrol or anything that writes to the system folders should be last.
     
  18. noodle654 thread starter macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #18
    Okay, so I just finished and I am on 10.6 and I just completed the SMC update. The Air is running fine, no problems. I am a bit scared to update to 10.6.1 because I dont want to do any of this again.
     
  19. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #19
    I'm running 6.1 just fine. Update away.

    Just don't throw anything funky on it from your other disk for a while.

    Pics, music is fine but add other pieces with caution. The Air isn't compatible with every piece of MB, MBP software out there.
     
  20. fluffyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #20
    I'm truly sorry to hear that. You should not be afraid of your computer!

    Do you live near an Apple Store in the USA? If so:
    1) Make a Genius Bar appointment.
    2) Bring your MacMall receipt with you to the Genius Bar appointment.
    3a) If the Genius Bar in the USA believes that your hardware is defective and your computer is less than fourteen days old, you will receive a new computer.
    3b) If the Genius Bar in the USA believes that your software is causing some of the trouble, request politely that they try*migrate your data to another computer running 10.6.1 and see if it has the trouble. If the other computer has trouble, I guess you'll need to figure out what part of your software + data is causing the trouble.

    In my understanding, 800-APL-CARE is not able to provide the same level of service that an Apple Retail Store is in this case. AppleCare's policy is to not replace a computer unless it was purchased directly from Apple, whereas an Apple Retail Store's policy is to replace a computer if it is defective and purchased new less than 14 days ago.

    If it's more than 14, but less than 30 days, you might try your luck at an Apple Store.

    On a side note, the MacBook Air is a Mac. There's not some "MacBook- or MacBook Pro-only" software that's screwing it up.

    noodle654, please keep us posted on what happens! You deserve to be happy with your new purchase.
     
  21. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #21
    Thanks for that bit.

    Wish I wouldn't have listened to that before I tried to get my MBA drive to run DVD Player on the MBP.:rolleyes:

    Only had to reload SL twice though.

    Drag & drop software bits from another product can certainly corrupt your OS.
     
  22. fluffyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #22
    • If you're using the operating system that first came with a Mac, it probably has modifications that allow the OS to run on that hardware. This is regardless of whether it's a MacBook Air, an iMac, etc...

    • When you use the Migration Assistant to transfer data from an old Mac to a new Mac, it intelligently will not replace a new or customized version of an Apple application with an old version. I realize that the original poster did not use Migration Assistant. Unless the original poster transferred bits from the /System/ folder, there's not a piece of software that's causing this symptom.

    • Transferring an application from one Mac to another will not damage either Mac's operating system.

    • When not using one of those "Apple-custom builds" of Mac OS X, the same hard drive will properly boot ANY Mac. For example, right now, a 10.6.1 drive that you create will boot a Mac Pro, a MacBook Air a previous gen iMac, a previous gen Mac mini, any MacBook Pro. It will boot any other Intel Mac that was released before last Tuesday. Every application—including DVD Player—will work properly. You will experience strange behaviour if you try to boot one of the newly released Macs with a standard 10.6.1 drive, even though the OS version may appear to be the same. Once 10.6.2 comes out for everyone, this drive will boot every Intel Mac, including the ones just released.

    NC MacGuy, it sounds like when you were having DVD Player trouble, one of your computers may have been using one of those factory custom OS builds.

    --

    It's possible that the original poster's trouble is caused by:
    • Bad logic board RAM. This isn't common, but it can happen. If this is the case, the computer should be replaced or repaired.
    • A corrupt preference file. If this is the case, a competent Apple Store Genius will quickly identify the problem.

    Since the original poster has already reinstalled Snow Leopard twice, we can be somewhat confident that the System folder and bundled applications are the proper versions.
     
  23. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #23
    Did you read the post where he loaded it and all was well? He hasn't reposted since but my guess is he drug over a piece that wasn't quite SL compatible.

    Also he DIDN'T use Migration Assistant. Your reply is why I asked if he had.

    If you really read all the posts you'd understand a bit more. I think you totally mattscotted the entire thread.


    and as for my MBP running DVD Player with my MBA SuperDrive, it works just fine now. It is a known issue with DVD Player using an ext. drive being locked out by Apple. MBA's have different code in system/library/frameworks/DVDPlayback/versions/A/DVDPlayback that needed modifying with a hex editor. Different than all other Macs with on-board opticals. This is a common issue with anyone running an ext. DVD drive and no internal but most just settle for running VLC. Not fixable by reloading software - any version.

    and how can I get another HDD to boot up my MBA?:rolleyes:
     
  24. fluffyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #24
    I certainly did not mean to be rude, or hastily skim through users' messages. If I did, I apologize.

    The O.P.'s last statement was that (s)he had reinstalled Snow Leopard, but had not yet updated to 10.6.1. The previous two times, symptoms did not appear until 10.6.1 was installed. noodle654, please let us know how this goes!

    -

    NC MacGuy, try booting your MBA from another hard drive: use your MacBook Pro to install Snow Leopard onto a USB drive. Plug that drive in to your MacBook Air, and boot it. Try running any app, including DVD Player. You don't have to do anything special to make it work perfectly.
     
  25. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #25
    10.6.1 update shouldn't break anything on a virgin MBA. If it's fine running 10.6 it should be better w. 6.1. I think problems really occurred when loading something else from his external drive and probably showed up on the obligatory restart after the update. Theory...

    Thanks for the info. on the USB but as far as I know, you can't run many apps from the SL DVD short of Disk Utilities, Installer, maybe System Profiler. Already been there and have a bootable USB & SDHC copy of SL. Only way to go.;)

    Been using & hacking Macs for over 20 years so hardly a neophyte but thanks for the help offer.
     

Share This Page