Major Problems installing XP with Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by panamax, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. panamax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys ive had my macbook for a couple months now and so far its been great but since I got it i havnt been able to figure out how to install XP on it with the bootcamp assistant.
    When i open the bootcamp assistant and start making a hdd partition for xp it says "Verification failed. This disk could not be partitioned. Use Disk Utility to repair this disk."
    When I start the Disk Utility and start repairing the disk it goes for about 2 minutes then stops and this is the text that follows

    Verifying volume “Macintosh Harddrive”

    Performing live verification.
    Checking Journaled HFS Plus volume.
    Checking Extents Overflow file.
    Checking Catalog file.
    Checking multi-linked files.
    Checking Catalog hierarchy.
    Checking Extended Attributes file.
    Checking volume bitmap.
    Checking volume information.
    Invalid volume file count
    (It should be 575626 instead of 575630)
    Invalid volume directory count
    (It should be 150082 instead of 150078)
    The volume Macintosh Harddrive needs to be repaired.

    Error: Filesystem verify or repair failed.



    Im sorry if I posted this in the wrong area im new to the site, but any help would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #2
    Can you boot of your OSX DVD and run disk utility there? When you run disk utility it will unmount the disk to repair it - which it can not do if you have booted from the hdd.
     
  3. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #3
    f

    Thanks for the reply

    When I boot from the Mac OS X Install Disc all that I seem to be able to do it start installing the operating system again, should i try backing up anything I need and reinstalling the operating system completely?
     
  4. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #4
    No need, when you boot the dvd there should be a utilities menu, select disk utility from there.
     
  5. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #5
    Ok I got the the disk utility after starting up from the install dvd, it worked and i partitioned the harddrive so I could install window xp using bootcamp but heres whats happening to me now

    I opened the bootcamp utility, partitioned the harddrive, then it asked me to insert the windows xp install dvd, i did so and it retarted the computer and went into the windows xp set up, it went through all the set up and then a 10 second timer came up saying that the computer would restart.

    Now when the computer restarted the first thing that came up was the white screen with the "ahhh" sound when mac os starts up then it went back to the start of the set up instead on continuing from where it should have.

    I tried holding the alt/option key when restarting it again and choosing the windows partition, then the screen goes black and text comes up saying "Disk Error - Press any key to continue"
    Pressing any of the keys on the keyboard doesnt do anything so im forced to restart the computer and go back into mac with no other options that I know of
     
  6. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #6
    ah yesi think everyone has been caught here, when you get to the section where you have to format the disk, delete the windows partition, recreate it and quick format

    for some reason with os x partitions it for u using the boot camp uitility it causes some problems cause the system not to boot off the xp partition
     
  7. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #7
    Alright I did everything you said and the computer restarted after the set up and I got this message

    Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
    <Windows root>\systems32\hal.dll.
    Please re-install a copy of the above file.

    I tried doing it over again and got the same message again, when i create the partition theres 2 different options called NTFS and FAT, I chose NTFS, is one better than the other?
     
  8. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #8
    no don't delete the fat one i believe that has some form of boot loader for the mac .

    Just delete FAT32 one that the boot camp makes, create it as ntfs, perform the quick format and try it then
     
  9. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #9
    Yeah thats what I did to get the error message.
    Ive got pretty bad luck with this eh? so many errors one after the other :mad:
     
  10. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #10
    I feel your pain there dude, it took me about 5 goes to get it working ok. The disk you using is XP home / pro with SP2?
     
  11. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #11
    home sp2

    I just wanna play counter strike god damn it lol
     
  12. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #12
    Yeah good game that - Now do you want o start the boot camp wizard again, delete the xp partition it made so that it's just os x on the drive. Reboot. Run the boot camp wizard again, adjust how much space you want. Let it reboot with the disk in the drive.

    When it comes time to format the disk. Select the one it made, delete it. Create it then format it. Hope fully that will do it for you.
     
  13. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #13
    im still getting the same error, i hate microsoft sometimes...
     
  14. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #14
    Hey thanks a heap for your help so far im gonna go to bed lol
    Hope your figure out wtfs wrong with my computer :)
     
  15. xIGmanIx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #15
    i had the same issue with my first couple of setups trying to use bootcamp. I was loading bootcamp so that i could use that as the basis for the trial version of fusion so that my wife can play all her silly cake mania games in windows on her mac. I found that even though i had installed many of microsoft OS's, i still had to follow the directions step by step, and if i got any errors, i would clear everything out and start from scratch. I currently am typing this in Windows 7 RC using FF 3.5 and i have to say its pretty slick.:eek:
     
  16. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
  17. MikeSantor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, Dirty South.
    #17
    I just want to add my experience. I had the same problem as mentioned by the OP too. Kept trying over and over and it would either re enter the initial set up (like an endless loop) or give me the disk error message as well.

    When I did what toolbox said (this was before I read this thread) and repartitioned to NTSF everything worked great. But then when you go back into bootcamp it wouldnt let me take off windows. I forgot the error it was giving me but something along the lines of mac not being able to read the windows partition to delete it.


    Edit so last night I decided to give the windows install another shot with my SP3 disk. As mentioned in this thread, i formated with bootcamp, loaded windows, deleted fat32, reformatted to NTFS then I got the same error as you Pana. Missing hal.DLL. so I downloaded. Weird part is, I used this same disk less then a week ago and it installed it fine.

    As I was going threw all the threads were people are having similar install problems a lot of people suggested using a SP2 disk. So i downloaded I mean Purchased a SP2 XP pro to test this. Did the same steps, partitioned with bootcamp, deleted, reformatted to NTFS, and installed and got the same error, missing dll.

    OP, I wouldnt waster ur time with making a SP2 disk, it seems like our problem is occuring in SP2 and SP3.

    I just need to figure out what changed between the time I used this SP3 disk and it worked, and now. Something had to have made it work and now not work.

    You come up with anything new Panamax??

    SOLUTION


    Edit number, like 9...

    I think I got it Pana. After a bunch of research it seems like a lot of people are only half informed and giving only half correct information. heres what you have to do to get passed that hal.dll problem.

    Open bootcamp and partition to whatever size you want.

    * If you are using fat32, you HAVE to format to 30GBs. this is because after its formated it gets a little bigger. So people formatting using 32GBs, after it is formated its over 32 and gets screwed up.

    After Bootcamp is over it will restart and boot into the blue windows installer screen.

    After that screen where its loading all the files you will be at the WINDOWS partition screen.

    DO NOT DELETE ANY PARTITIONS!!!


    *This was the cause of my problem above were after I deleted and remade partitions, OS X could not recognized the other partition.

    You HAVE to choose one of the 3...

    A) reformat using NTFS quick
    B) reformat using NTFS
    C) reformat using Fat32.

    You cant delete and you cant leave the partition alone and continue the install.

    Deleting and making a new partition via the windows installer WILL give you the missing DLL error.

    Leaving the format that bootcamp made will give you errors.

    This SHOULD get you past the missing DLL error.

    Quick run through using NTSF

    Open bootcamp.
    Partition at what you want (I just did 80GB)
    *computer restarts
    *Blue windows installer screen, loading files.
    *Partition screen.
    Choose the fat32 file that bootcamp made.
    *next partition screen
    Choose reformat with NTSF (quick)
    *reformatting screen
    *computer reboots into windows.

    Just did this successfully with SP3.

    Let me know if you have any questions. This WILL work for you to get you past the DLL problem...
     
  18. panamax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #18
    Ahah it worked!
    Thanks a million to everyone who helped me, youve done me a huge favor =)
    Seeing how you said so many people had the same problem you should post the solution somewhere so other people have the same problems can find it somewhere easy
     
  19. soupdog777 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #19
    I just want to say thanks!

    I found this thread and it helped me solve a problem that I was also having.

    I'm new to Mac's but I already really really really like them, unfortunately I have a few programs that I have to run on windows so this helped tremendously.

    Thanks Again for your expertise!

    SD777
     

Share This Page