Make a 4.1 (or 5.1) pose as a 6.1 for software

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AndreeOnline, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #1
    I'm thinking this might not be possible if all identification methods falls back on the SMC and it's firmware, but has anyone tried to make an older Mac Pro be identified as a new model?

    The reason I'm asking is because dual GPUs are supported in DaVinci Resolve Lite IF it's a Mac Pro 2013 (probably since users don't have an option here: they are all dual GPU).

    And I just got an email saying that the FCPX plugin Color Finale now also supports dual GPUs—but only in the 2013 Mac Pro. I don't know why Color Finale makes this distinction, but I fear Apple makes it easier for developers to implement dual GPU for newer Mac Pros.

    I would hate for this to become a trend since I want to take advantage of this cheap upgrade...

    So back to the question: can I make my 4.1 pose as a 6.1 for this purpose?
     
  2. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #2
    Barefeats run FinalCut-X tests on Classic Mac Pros using dual AMDs so even a lowly 5770 in dual configuration showed nice improvements. I would assume there is nothing that would be hard coded to say only 6,1, just that it would look for dual AMDs, no?
     
  3. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #3
    FCPX itself runs dual GPU, sure. That is an upside to dual GPUs in a cMP, but I already knew that.

    The Color Finale PLUGIN was just updated to take advantage of dual GPUs—but the developer says it only applies to the new Mac Pro. I'm talking to him to try to find out why…

    And DaVinci Resolve uses two GPUs if you have the $999 full version (like Barefeats), but the Lite version is single compute GPU, UNLESS you have the new Mac Pro, then it uses both for compute.

    I don't like these arbitrary software restrictions depending on hardware... that's why I'm asking...
     
  4. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #4
    Sounds like the cases you provided are more about optimizing support for a select number of GPUs, in which case there's nothing you can do.
     
  5. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #5
    I don't quite get what you mean regarding my use cases…

    In DaVincis case it's a business decision, obviously. Just like the don't have noise reduction and 4k DCI in the Lite version (or 3D).

    Talking with the Color Finale developer it seems more like they haven't tested it with the cMP with dual graphics. I don't think they've specifically designed against it.
     

Share This Page