make alarm vibrate only?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by heycal, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. heycal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #1
    Is there a quick and easy way to make my alarm clock vibrate only? Today I was in a meeting place and needed to set an alarm, but I didn't want to to disturb the people around me with any audible sounds.
     
  2. Glassed Silver macrumors 68020

    Glassed Silver

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Kassel, Germany
    #2
    Just flick the silent switch.

    I know from experience, I learned the hard way that an alarm at 6:00am won't do anything in regards to waking me up if the silent switch is still flicked, which happened from time to time. All you need is forgetting to put it back to "sounds on".

    PS: It'd be nice if Apple allowed us to have some alarms marked as "important" or something so that they ignore the silent switch.
    Anything to make iOS a rock solid alarm clock.

    Glassed Silver:mac
     
  3. powerstrokin macrumors 6502a

    powerstrokin

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    #3
    Unless I'm misunderstanding something- flipping the switch to vibrate does not silence the alarms. At least it never has for me. Vibrate mode and/or Do Not Disturb mode don't silence the alarm, which they shouldn't.
     
  4. Glassed Silver macrumors 68020

    Glassed Silver

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Kassel, Germany
    #4
    I wish that was true with my iPhone! :confused:

    Glassed Silver:mac
     
  5. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #5
    That is true. He is correct. An alarm overrides everything
     
  6. Glassed Silver macrumors 68020

    Glassed Silver

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Kassel, Germany
    #6
    I got his message, it's just not the case on my devices. That's all.
    Why? I don't know, it's all I know.

    Glassed Silver:mac
     
  7. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    edit - actually you don't need to do any of that. Just go into the alarm, set it , then choose sound, scroll to the bottom , choose none
     
  8. heycal thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #8
    This doesn't work either. It silenced the vibrate for some reason as well.
     
  9. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #9
  10. powerstrokin macrumors 6502a

    powerstrokin

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    #10
    Here's an idea- just set a reminder for whatever time instead of using the actual alarm. Put phone on vibrate. I think that should do what you want.
     

Share This Page