Make call from Contacts

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by joker00, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. joker00 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #1
    strangely making a call to a number on a website works nicely.

    However I can't call anyone from my address book?

    Anyone else having a similar problem?
     
  2. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #2
    No Volume

    My problem is that I can select a number in my contact list and it will make the call and my iPhone has the "Speaker" on it selected but I can not hear via my Mac Speaker or the iPhone. If I click on and off the Speaker on the iPhone I can hear it on the iPhone. Have not tried with a web site number.
     
  3. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #3
    Where do you see the option to call? I open contacts and I see my contacts' numbers but it won't let me make a phone call.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Those of you who are *trying* to make calls, are you on iOS 7 or iOS 8 with your phones?
     
  5. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #5
    iOS 8. I actually found the option just by right clicking (heh) but whenever I click "call using iphone" I just get a flash of the speaker thing on the right hand side and nothing happens.

    Edit: I turned bluetooth on on my iPhone. I thought bluetooth wasn't necessary for this? It seems to be making a phone call, but I can't hear anything.
     
  6. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #6
    I think you need to be on iOS 8 and Mac 10.10 for all of this new connectivity stuff.

    ----------

    I do not right mouse click. I put my mouse on the the phone type (like Work) and it then selects the entire phone number while I just click on it. I then get a small menu to make the call or sms etc.
     
  7. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #7
    Thanks. Do you have bluetooth enabled on your phone?
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    I was just wondering if it would work with iOS 7. I'm going to get the 10.10 public beta, but not the iOS 8 beta and really wanted to try this feature.
     
  9. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #9
    Bluetooth is required for at least the part (or all) of these features.

    When testing handoff where if I go into the Maps on my iPhone it will show up in the Doc on the Mac.

    If I turn off WiFi it still works but if I turn off Bluetooth it does not. I am only talking about Bluetooth on my iPhone because if I turn off Bluetooth on my Mac I would loose my trackpad.
     
  10. bookalon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    Kells, Ireland
    #10
    i was playing around with last night after i came home, i must have had my bluetooth on, but i find it will not work at all with no bluetooth.

    everything works with the bluetooth on, but same, I've no sound

    nice feature when it rolls out
     
  11. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #11
    Same here. No sound.
     

Share This Page