Make computer think Wifi is actually Ethernet?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Shorties, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. Shorties macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    So I'm sure you guys have heard of Onlive which launched yesterday, one of of the downsides currently is they wont allow you to play over Wi-Fi due to latency issues. Mostly they don't want the user to experience latency issues and blame it on the service rather than the connection. (They say Wi-Fi will work eventually once they optimize it more, and currently their closed beta testers are able to use it over wireless, and even on the iPad, and iPhone). Anyway, Windows has a nifty feature where you can bridge your connections, and by doing that, Onlive will work over Wi-Fi, I tried it out and it actually worked great, very minimal latency issues, but I usually am on my OSX partition, and want to play it on here. Does anyone know of a way to fake out Onlive? Or do a bridge connections type thing within OSX?
     
  2. 007bond macrumors 6502a

    007bond

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    #2
    im trying to do the same thing. the wired requirement sucks especially when i have 802.11n
     
  3. Shorties thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    Yeah so far the only way I know how to is through windows, which kinda defeats the appeal of OnLive, someone has to know a trick to this.
     
  4. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
  5. Shorties thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    Just tried it but it didn't work unfortunately.
     
  6. Pickleman77 macrumors member

    Pickleman77

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #6
    Make computer think Wifi is actually Ethernet?

    Hey there. I was wondering if there was any way I could make Mac OS X think that my Wi-Fi connection is actually ethernet. Any ideas, suggestions, or programs are very much appreciated. Thanks! :)
     
  7. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
  8. foxnews1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #8

    here is the reason:

    say you are using wifi as your internet connection. then you plug in your ethernet to share files. boom, you lost your wifi connection since osx thinks ethernet is the internet connection.
     
  9. Pickleman77 macrumors member

    Pickleman77

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #9
    Sorry, I should have specified. I just got into OnLive (really cool tech- google it!) and it only works over a wired connection. I've watched the network usage and I've seen my WiFi go way beyond it, and I'd like to carry my laptop away from the wired connection.
     
  10. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #10
    There really is no way to do that, although it may be possible to trick the program you are using into thinking it is wired. I'm not certain about that though.
     
  11. wmw71190 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #11
    I'm trying to do this as well. Any luck yet? I was thinking of bridging to my host computer's wired connection...but I don't know how to do this with a mac.
     
  12. junebug1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    #12
    Good to see I wasn't the only one trying to do this. I've tried just about everything I can to do a bridged connection but OSX just isn't having it.
     
  13. ctrlaltdel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #13
    wifi

    there is a way to do it but the awkward thing is that you have to be plugged into ethernet at first. then you open network settings set it to manual and type in the ip address... run onlive.. then unplug ethernet and it should run i got it running for about half an hour or so before the onlive even noticed
     
  14. ernestryles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #14
    There IS a way

    there is a way to do this. To do it download Pdanet desktop for mac here: http://www.junefabrics.com/iphone/mac.php

    After you download and install pdanet it will appear as an ethernet adapter in your system preferences. Reorder your connections so that the pdanet adapter is above your wifi and you should be good to go.

    Sorry if that was at all confusing but thats the only way that i know of to do it.

    This has worked quite well for me (you do need a fairly fast wifi connection of course). So you're welcome everyone.
     
  15. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #15
    Just so you know this doesn't actually happen. OS X will happily stay connected to both networks at the same time.

    I once tried connecting my laptop to the same wireless connection with two separate cards (AirPort and external USB card). I actually got massively increased download speeds by doing so. If I used only AirPort or only USB, I got the same download speeds but when using both I got download speeds more than 2x just one or the other. Same type of thing with ethernet.
     
  16. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #16
    Only one network connection is considered "default" and only this one will be used to get to items outside of the subnet (the internet at large is outside your subnet). Barring complex setups (channel bonding, or a few non TCP protocols) all new connections will be established on the "default" connection (once again assuming they are outside the subnet), and totally ignore all other connections.

    iThinkergoiMac: Your speed-up was wishful thinking, especially on the signal from a single access point since all of the traffic to that access point shares the same frequency and so one device has to wait while another is talking or everything degenerates into a mush.
     
  17. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #17
    Aaah, shoot. It was a while ago, and now that I think back more I was actually using ethernet and airport, not two wireless cards. The result was still the same, though.

    I was on my college network, where they use bandwidth shaping. I tried downloading a file (I think iTunes from Apple's website) over just Airport and got, say, 300 KBps. With just the ethernet, 300 KBps. With both, over 1 MBps. 1 MBps is closer to what I should get on the internet connection without the bandwidth shaping so I can only conclude that it had something to do with that. But the difference was marked, consistent, and happened 100% of the time. Not exactly wishful thinking.

    I admit that it probably won't make such a fantastic difference for most people, but it makes for a good story.

    Also, a college network uses multiple access points to serve the same SSID, so it would be theoretically possible to increase speed with 2 WiFi cards as long as you didn't connect to the same access point.
     
  18. One-Post-Wonder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #18
    You sir, are a genius. This worked for me and I had to make an account on MacRumors just to congratulate you on solving my problem.
     
  19. ernestryles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #19
    Glad I could help.
     
  20. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  21. ernestryles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #22

Share This Page