Make External Display Primary

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pancho, Oct 9, 2007.

  1. pancho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #1
    I'm thinking about replacing my 24" iMac with a 15" MacBook Pro, however I'd like to keep my 20" dell monitor and use it as the primary display for the MacBook Pro, is that possible?

    By primary I mean having the dock and everything else on it, with the built-in display being like an external display that I can use for extra space.

    Also, would the same be possible at all with my iMac?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Display Preference Pane -> Arrangement -> Drag the menu bar to the monitor your want as primary
     
  3. pancho thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #3
    Wow, shame on me, I didn't realize it was draggable. Thanks a bunch! :)
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    You never learn it until you have dual monitors. :rolleyes:
     
  5. topedaman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Eidorian's got a fan club! :p
     
  7. sirvivian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #7
    Nice one! I never realised this either. Love it! :cool:
     
  8. dan5.5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #8
    It's a great feature. The actual screens also drag, so the computer knows where the external is.
     
  9. melibro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #9
    menu bar moves, but not dock

    Hey there. Great tip on dragging the menu bar to the external display. But, what about the dock? I'd like that to appear on my external display as well. Did I do something wrong?
     
  10. c1phr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #10

    That should have followed the menu bar, make sure you don't have it set to auto hide? And if you have it set on a certain side, try setting it to the bottom and see if that works. I have my external display set up as my primary and my dock always appears over there (bottom/no auto-hide).
     
  11. Joelburman macrumors regular

    Joelburman

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #11
    Thanks for great advice. Does anyone have an idea how I change the cursor going off the screen to my built in monitor. Its now from the right but I need it to go to the left because thats the direction where I have my MacBook Pro.
     
  12. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #12
    - Same location as discussed in the thread. Just drag the whole desktop to where you want it.
     
  13. Joelburman macrumors regular

    Joelburman

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #13
    Ah didn't pay attention enough thanks!
     

Share This Page