make mac os x vm

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by uaecasher, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. uaecasher macrumors 65816

    uaecasher

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
    #1
    hello,

    I have read that parallels and vmware fusion don't add vm of the "desktop" version of mac os x?

    why is that and is there anyway i can trick it to think that the desktop version is a server version?

    thanks
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    im not sure why they dont add the consumer version, im guessing there is some sort of legal issue with it here..
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    it's against the ELUA to run osx under in a vm and vmware/osx generally doesn't let you do it. You can google it but I've not heard of anyone doing it
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    howcome you can get server osx then? or will they get in trouble for that?

    or is the server version exempt from this..
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Because apple allowed it in their EULA.
     
  6. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #6
    Rumor has it that Parallels and VMware both have working code to run OS X VMs, but won't add the code to their released products to stay on Apple's good side.

    I have not been able to feed my install disks to either and create a working OS X installation directly, but I have had VMware OS X VMs that came from the hackintosh world. I have used Tiger 10.4.10 and Leopard 10.5.5. The problem for Apple is that the VM files work just as well on VMware Workstation on a PC running either Windows or Linux, and Apple doesn't want that.
     

Share This Page