Make your MB chime when you plug in

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by noobinator, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. noobinator, Sep 7, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2015
  2. KrisLord macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #2
    Wasn't this a feature of the new MacBook anyway? I thought this was just something new for other Mac laptops.
     
  3. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    I should have clarified that it's the chime for older macs. Yes the new one uses it by default since it has no light indicator.
     
  4. KrisLord macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #4
    The new MacBook is my first Mac laptop, so I was surprised to see this wasn't standard on older models :)
     
  5. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #5
    Works on my 2011 MacBook Air 11" running El Capitain beta. Pretty quiet though - seems to be dependent on system volume setting. Turning the volume up to full helps, but who wants to leave it like that?
     
  6. Aneef macrumors regular

    Aneef

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Location:
    Lahore, Pakistan
    #6
    This created some problems on my mac yesterday. My macbook pro was in sleep mode and before opening the Lid I connected the charger and then opened the lid. On the login screen, I couldn't find any User accounts, instead it showed me a green full battery image (about 512x512 resolution). The charger was in orange mode, means that battery was being charged. I tried pressing space bar and clicked the trackpad but user accounts were not being showed even after that. I removed the charger and macbook went back to sleep. I closed and then opened the lid, it started showing me the user accounts. I then connected my charger, and the charger was showing that battery is being charge (orange light) but when I checked Battery Monitor app it was showing that available charge is 8492 mAh and battery capacity is also 8492 mAh. I didn't understand that why it showed me that battery is being charged? I then removed the charger and connected it again and the light turned out to be green. After all this, I tried to disable the command as stated in the OP's original link by making the boolean variable as false. The command executed but I still hear the chime sound whenever I connect my charger.
     
  7. Queen6, Sep 9, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015

    Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #7
    Download the latest combo update (10.10.5) and install, this will reset many system file, potentially correct the issue. Did you reboot as the Terminal command looks ok. Or you could always edit the plist file manually or delete it.

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.PowerChime ChimeOnAllHardware -bool false;killall PowerChime
    Key here is the inclusion "killall"

    As for the "battery" image this is normal for the MacBook if the system is shutdown, also briefly looking at PowerChime it also looks to interact with the system during sleep.


    Q-6
     
  8. Tulani macrumors 6502a

    Tulani

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #8
    people may need to carefully note it works and suitable for Yosemite only....right??
     
  9. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #9
    Believe so, if PowerChime is not CoreServices the Terminal cmd will just return as a failed.

    Q-6
     
  10. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #10
    Easy answer replace the file with something more pronounced or louder;

    Code:
    /System/Library/CoreServices/PowerChime.app/Contents/Resources/connect_power.aif
    Highlight above code, right click; Services Reveal in Finder, rename and replace with whatever you like.

    Q-6
     
  11. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #11
    Thanks for the tidbit. May put another tone in there.

    Interesting though that my wife's rMB's power chime is much louder regardless of the volume setting of her machine.
     

Share This Page