Making a bootable dvd for win 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by elpmas, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. elpmas macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
    #1
    Okay guys...I need a lil help with this. I purchased win7 from win741.
    I need help with this:

    1) Is the purchased download a full version or upgrade only version?
    2) How do I make the downloaded iso into a bootable dvd (i.e. retail dvd)?
    3) Which program should I burn it with (besides Toast)?


    I tried using a burned copy I made from a windows laptop...I got an error saying hardware is missing...or some files fro c drive is missing.

    ***If you can help that'll be great. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. peapody macrumors 68040

    peapody

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    baltimore, md
    #2

    Sorry I don't have answers for you...but I do have questions -

    How did you purchase it? I couldn't for the life of me find the download page. I am a student with a valid address and everything.

    I was under the impression that it would be an upgrade for students, and that to get the dvd you would have to pay 13.95 on top of the 64.95. I could be wrong in this since, I just gave up after it was difficult to find straight answers and got a full retail one with box for $100.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    burning the .iso with Disk Utility.app (comes with OSX) should work perfectly fine :)

    im not sure if it is the student/upgrade version or not...
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A293 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Win741 has always been an upgrade deal even though it wasn't always marketed that way. As pointed out in another thread http://forums.macrumors.com/wap/GetThread.php?t=944360 the $29 deal is back if you follow the links from win741 you go to a new $29 deal @ microsoft.com.

    The errors the op got with the first burned disk are typical of burning at too fast a speed on marginal media.

    If Disk Utility is unclear or doesn't work, try burning the ISO using Burn OS X. http://burn-osx.sourceforge.net/

    B
     
  5. peapody macrumors 68040

    peapody

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    baltimore, md
    #5
    Oh nice, didn't realize it is back. An upgrade though - not good for me haha. Thanks for the FYI.
     
  6. elpmas thread starter macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
    #6
    I just purchased it and it took me to the cart, paid for it and it directed me to the download page. At least that's what I remember :eek:

    I tried...it just burnt the iso...i don't think it burned an image...just kinda copied the file.

    I burned the file at x8. I couldn't find a x2 or x4 speed...and thanks, I think I used the burning software you gave me when I tried to burn the iso.

    Bah...this is epic fail on my part lol.
     
  7. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #7
    To use Disk Utility, drag the ISO into the bottom half of the column on the left to bring the ISO into Disk Utility. Then select the ISO, and click burn at the top of the window.
     
  8. elpmas thread starter macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
    #8
    Alrighty...I'm trying it right now...I hope this flipping works!
    **Do I just burn the ISO and nothing else?
     
  9. elpmas thread starter macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
    #9
    Didn't work...I burnt it at x4 speed using disk utility. This is what I got

    [​IMG]

    Any suggestions as to what this may be now? Upgrade only?
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    you didnt do it right then silly. i have burnt tons of .iso image files to DVD using Disk Utility.app. :)
     
  11. elpmas thread starter macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
    #11
    Bah...I think the file I got from MS....was an upgrade...=(
     
  12. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    That shouldn't matter. You can install clean from upgrade media, including ISO files using the old double install method. You're not even getting to the install bit.

    It's possible you have a bum SuperDrive.

    B
     

Share This Page