Making a mirror copy of my HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nampramos, May 22, 2011.

  1. nampramos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    Hi guys!

    Could someone please tell me what's the best way to make a full copy of my HDD into another HDD connected by USB?

    I will soon change my HDD on my mac and for that I will buy a case for the new drive, connect it by usb, then do the mirror copy and when that is finished I switch the old drive to the case and the new drive that just got mirrored to the mac.

    Thanks!
     
  2. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #3
    Google "Carbon Copy Cloner" or "Super Duper".
     
  3. nampramos thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #4
    And how should I do it?
    Put the new hdd already in the mac and boot up from the old hdd on the enclousure and then proceed with the cloning or the other way around?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    The other way around would be faster, as you boot from the internal older HDD instead of the old external HDD via USB, as USB is limited to 30MB/s.
     
  5. nampramos thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #6
    Right, tought so.
    One more question.
    Buying a USB 3.0 enclousure will give me faster speeds on a 2.0 port or want make any difference at all?
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #7
    A USB 3.0 on USB 2.0 will run at USB 2.0 speeds.
     
  7. likegadgets macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #8
    I have used super duper to clone mac drives several times. It works great.
    The paid version allows smart and fast subsequent updates. I run a nightly backup using super duper in addition to the time machine.
     
  8. nampramos thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #9
    I only want to make a one time cloning. Do I need the paid version for that?
    CCC does the same good job?
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    No, CCC can do that.

    Yes.
     
  10. nampramos thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #11
    Thanks!
    The HDD should get here this week and now I just need to buy the enclousure.
     
  11. jimbo1mcm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

Share This Page