Making a Movie, please help.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Cologero, Apr 11, 2010.

1. Cologero macrumors newbie

I am new to Macs and all Im trying to do is make an audio file into a movie file so i can upload it to youtube. I used to use windows movie maker and insert a random clip, then my instrumental i made, then turn off video sound and keep audio sound at full. Is there anyway I can do something similar on MAC because I want to upload my instrumentals to youtube but I cant because they are only audio files.

2. AFPoster macrumors 65816

Open the App iMovie on your Mac, this is far superior than Windows Movie Maker and once you get used to it you'll love it.

3. Cologero thread starter macrumors newbie

I tried using it but I dont understand it at all. I looked at help center and still cant get it. I dont know how to upload the mp3 or save the file as an mp4. All i want to do is just turn the audio file into an mp4 so I can put it on youtube. With windows movie maker all i had to do was upload a movie sample, upload the audio i wanted and then save as movie file. This imovie is so much more complicated, any help is highly appreciated.

4. AFPoster macrumors 65816

I don't have my mac in front of me right now but to change it from mp3 to mp4 you can Ctrl click the file and hit "Get Info" and where the name is change the mp3 to mp4 and hit enter. As for iMovie load it up and drag the file onto the iMovie screen and that will bring it in. If not use Garage Band and resave it as mp4. With iMovie you can open up a video file or make a new one while implimenting the music simotaneously. Hope this helps, like I said though I don't have my Mac on me.

5. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

Dave Braine

iMovie is ideally suitable for this. Don't worry about converting to an mp4, there is no need.