Making a Website, But Avoiding Flash

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by thedarkchariot, Feb 21, 2010.

1. thedarkchariot macrumors newbie

Hey guys.

I am currently trying to make my portfolio site, and I am in full opposition to using flash and flash video. Well, what's a guy supposed to use then? I understand that jquery (and javascript) can be used for animations, and I use some jquery (just some thickbox/highslide stuff right now), but can someone point me in the right direction?

Also, if the iPhone and iPad don't support flash, and they support HTML5 video...doesn't that mean HTML5 video should play on the iPhone? How can I implement HTML5 video on my website?

Thanks. I realize these are very n00bish questions, but I am just getting started.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

You should describe exactly what you're trying to do. Your "question" is really vague at the moment.

3. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

ezekielrage_99

Not sure how to answer the question due the vagueness... But on my portfolio I've got an h.264 MOV to get around the "flash issue" on an iPhone.

If you are concerned with copyright or people ripping your idea then you can always water mark :)

4. digitalpencil macrumors 6502

digitalpencil

ezekielrage_99 is right. your best bet is to detect for absence of Flash and substitute H5 <video> in its place. Detecting for the iPhone and delivering tailored content (larger buttons, interface refinements, plugin-free etc). would be even better if you're planning on getting large hit ratios for mobile deployment.

on a side note, i wouldn't advise skipping out on Flash entirely. it's a formidable technology that is adept at delivering far more than simple video but has earned a bad reputation amongst certain devs for poor execution. this is mostly a lack of understanding though, it can deliver truly remarkable results.