Making an app

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by tvinshan, Aug 30, 2013.

1. tvinshan macrumors newbie

Again, Im new to programming so please bear with me.

I'm a high school teacher in physics, and want to make an app with facts about physics like equations and stuff for my class. It should be like this: they press the screen in the app and a fact about temperature scale comes up, and then they press the screen again and another facts about something else about physics comes up and etc.

When I open Xcode, should I choose Single View App. or Page-Based App. The reason I ask this is that if I choose Page-Based App. I don't have the storyboard option.

So I started to choose the Single View App. Which of the Objects should I choose? Should I choose the one called Navigation Controller in Object? And how do I add more screens with facts? Can I just copy and past screens and write down facts on each and then link them to each other with the action forwarder?

Regards :)

2. larswik macrumors 68000

Sounds like from what you are saying you have no experience in programming. From personal experience your are heading towards a failed end result. If you really want to learn to program then start by reading a basic programming book in C for instance and learn programming first and not trying to learn by first building this project.

Here's why. Since you don't know how to program the only way you can do this is by asking people for the code or trying to find examples online that you can copy and paste in to your project as you Frankenstein your app together.

When I started I also wanted an app and wanted to start in the middle and got frustrated and quit. Only after I went to the basics of C and learned programming over the course of a year was I able to reach my goals and make an app.