Making my Mac a server to my sony Bravia??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by newmaccy, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. newmaccy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #1
    I have a mac and I am a new user having had a PC for years. Anyone any ideas how I get my TV to recognise my Mac so I can view pictures, videos etc . Says something about firewall, but I can't seem to find where I need to enable my TV as a connection.

    Please Help


    Thank you
     
  2. knevermind macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #2
    Are you running 10.6 Snow Leopard?

    If so when you connect your Mac to a HDTV it should auto detect, after connecting go to System Preferences/Displays then select your TV and adjust the resolution/screen arrangement from there. Best of luck. 
     
  3. newmaccy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #3
    my TV has Wifi does that make any difference? when my tv was connected to my pc I had to add its IP address to the list of accepted connections, can this be done on my mac?
     
  4. robgendreau macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #4
    The previous answer assumed you wanted to set up the TV as a display; I believe you want to network it, correct?

    If so, then first you need to get it on your home network through whatever router you are using. Once it's connected up, then you can work on connecting your Mac. What router are you using?

    If you've already got the TV working on the internet and network, find it's IP address and use the menu Go>Connect to Server... and enter it; that may show you if you're connected up. I don't know what software runs on the TV, so I can't get you much past there. If the TV is running any kind of file server it will show up. If not; don't despair, try the steps below.

    If the TV is only capable of displaying meda served from the Mac, then try Playback; it's software from Yazsoft. It installs on the Mac and is a media server; it sends pictures, movies, music etc to my Playstation. So it may work with the TV as well. I believe it should work for you; the trick is getting the network connections going. Download the demo and give it a try. You start it on your Mac and it should take care of opening the Mac firewall for you; but again, if you router has a separate firewall it may prevent the Mac and TV from communicating.

    Rob
     
  5. newmaccy, Jun 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2011

    newmaccy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #5
    Just tried Playback, looks good, although doesnt seem to play any of the music I have purchased from Itunes which is a bit weird, any ideas on that? or do I have to purchase the full version to get that
     
  6. robgendreau macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #6
    Music purchased through iTunes from Apple is generally "protected," meaning it only plays on Apple devices. That may be why they don't show up.
     
  7. newmaccy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #7
    Guess so, they want you to buy the appletv, method in their madness
     

Share This Page