making my tmobile in micro sim?? scared

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CBillups1, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. CBillups1 macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    i just cut up a verizon sim card and inserted it into the phone and it says no sim card. i didnt cut any of the gold contact. i have a regular tmobile sim that is active and i wanna use it in my iphone 4 but im worried if i cut it up its not gonna work
     
  2. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    #2
    DO IT!!!!!

    If you're scared you'll mess it up, go get prepaid T-Mob sim (I think they're like $10 or something) to "practice" with. There are a ton of vids on YouTube about this study up and keep a steady hand :D
     
  3. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    ok cut i cut the verizon sim card good, does how big the gold contact matter? or maybe it doesnt recognize the verizon sim since its probably different network?
     
  4. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    ok i just cut it and fits in perfect and says NO SIM.

    umm what the hell? did i not unlock it correctly or something?
     
  5. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Why are yo scared, if it doesn't work get another SIM.
     
  6. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    im saying whats the point in getting one, i cut the sim perfectly.


    I CUT THE SIM AND FITS PERFECT IN THE TRAY. THE PHONE WILL NOT READ THE SIM OR SOMETHING, IT SAYS NO SIM. whats going on? i mean i can easily go to tmobile and get another sim but what if i do it again and it doesnt read it?
     
  7. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #7
    Are you sure you didn't nip any of the metal contacts while cutting the SIM? Are you also sure the phone is actually unlocked?
     
  8. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    NOPE did not even come close to touching or even cutting the metal contacts. i was very cautious and know not to cut any of the metal since thats the SIM basically.

    Im pretty sure its unlocked, i jailbroke it and have cydia.

    all i do is install ultrasn0w right? if so then i did that and nothing.
     
  9. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    anyone? this si really confusing, i did everything right and its not working.
     
  10. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  11. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    i already stated im 99% sure its unlocked, if all i had to do was install ultrasn0w then i did that. Yes i turned off 3g as well.

    Im not sure whats going on, im about to order a tmobile micro sim online but worried when i get it and activate it, it wont work either. i cut it perfect so that cant be an issue.
     
  12. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
  13. gsbedi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
  14. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #14
    ill try right now

    with tmobile sim in or ATT?
     
  15. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
  16. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    so i must of screwed something up on the sim? because even if it wasnt unlocked, would the phone recognize the sim?
     
  17. gsbedi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #17
    You probably damaged the contacts on the sim card. Get a few sim cards to test it out on. Also make sure the sim card you want to use is already activated... That should be obvious.
     
  18. Irish Rose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Why bother going through all this aggravation, when you can pick up a T-Mobile Micro SIM card for $10 or less shipped from eBay.
     
  19. iphonefouruser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    uk
    #19
    as a uk t mobile member who ordered his phone from apple direct before t mobile got their act together (no micro sims from tmobile until they were ready to ship the phones to customers) I had to trim my sim. I used a sim cutter off ebay.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CUT-Micro-Sim-Card-Cutter-ipad-iphone-4-4G-adapter-/160475628452?pt=PDA_Accessories&hash=item255d17c3a4

    lining the sim up in the cutter it looked like it was still going to catch the last thousandth of a millimetre of gold on one edge during the cut. In fact it did just that when the cutter was used and nicked the contacts down one side. thing is, mine works perfectly despite the contact touch. obviously nothing important in that thou on the edge.
     
  20. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #20
    and take a week to arrive? i mean no one is gonna send it priority since its a tiny card.

    anyways im going tmobile store tomorrow and pick up a sim and hopefully its the one with the small gold contact so it can be cut easier.
     
  21. canuck82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #21
    I'm on Roger's network, so I don't know if the sim cards are the same, but I actually had to cut part of the metal to get it to fit into the sim tray. Since the sim card was used in my old 3G, there were marks left from where the contacts were made in the phone. I saw that there were unused portions of the card that forums I've read said were not necessary. I simply cut a slice off one side and made sure the middle portion of the card fit in the very middle of the opening of the micro sim tray of the iphone4. Put the card in and voila! sim detected and no promblems so far. Hope this helps
     
  22. Sir Ruben macrumors 65816

    Sir Ruben

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #22
    Actually there a few guides out there that tell you its okay to slice part of the actual gold sim away without affecting the sim card itself.

    I cut my sim when the phone arrived on launch day (Orange didnt even know what an iphone4 was when I called them to order a microsim), put it in the phone and it had no signal. I connected it to itunes and during activation of the phone THATS when it showed the service provider and signal strength. Not before. Bare that in mind.
     
  23. monaarts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #23
    okay… first off. The Verizon Sim won't work because it uses a different network. With Tmobile it will work but you won't get 3G speeds because they use a different frequency.


    - Joe
     
  24. google macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #24
    Go to www.simcumcise.com and order a sim cutter which allows you to micro sim your card and leave the rest of the card to be re-used to convert it back to a regular sim. plz keep the xacto knife and scissors comments as it does not leave you with an adoptor to convert back when you need to.
     

Share This Page