making ringtones in garageband

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Carbonic, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. Carbonic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #1
    Is their a way I can tune the settings to make it sound clear on my iPhone? All my ringtones sound either too loud, and distorted.

    After I hit share > send ringtone to itunes, it'll play a preview, and it always sounds like crap.

    Ideas?
     
  2. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #2
    It changes how it sounds so that the iPhone speaker can handle it. I.e cutting out all the nice bass, and leaving lots of mid. I tends to sound good on the iPhone, but bad on the computer because your used to better. It just optimizes it, so its good :)
     
  3. nanvinnie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #3
    the way i do it is edit sound files (mp3,wav,whatever) on audacity. then i convert to a wav file and load it into itunes. have itunes convert the files to m4a files. then change the file extension to m4r and it will be a ringtone. just make sure it's less then 40 seconds long or it won't work.

    i use audacity as my sound editing program, but you can use whatever you want.

    hope this helps, cheers!
     
  4. slicecom macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    Thats weird, I use Garagaband to make my ringtones, and when I export a song as a ringtone to iTunes, it automatically removes pretty much all bass and adjusts the levels to the ideal volume upon export.
     
  5. ngmcs8203 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
    Using Garageband/Audacity: Is it easier and less buggy than using iTunes. The whole ringtone creator in iTunes is clunky and super buggy.
     
  6. cartel1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire, UK
    #6
    I just tried this method and if I do a 'get info' on the track it says the file is a ringtone but it doesn't appear in the 'ringtones' menu in itunes, any ideas why?

    I've tried all the suggested methods and the tracks (all under 40 seconds) never appear in 'ringtones.:(
     
  7. nanvinnie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #7
    hmm... not too sure. at first, it would register as a ringtone on itunes and then it wouldn't sync to my phone, but that's when my files were longer than 40 seconds. it seems you've already taken care of that. sorry.
     

Share This Page