iPhone Making tether stay active

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by borgqueenx, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. borgqueenx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #1
    Is there a tweak that prevents the iphone tethering to go off when you put the phone to standby?
     
  2. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
  3. borgqueenx thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #3
    what do you mean this is a glitch? this is something that ios7 without jailbreak does.
    Thats why i want to jailbreak to make tether also work backgrounded and on standby.
     
  4. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #4
    Do you mean that when the device is locked and the screen is off that the tethered feature turns off? No more connection?

    This is strange. It doesn't happen to my 4S while tethering to my rMini.
     
  5. lukejc1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #5
    I don't have this bug on my 5s. I'm using the stock Personal Hotspot feature in iOS since that is included in my data plan. Not sure if that has anything to do with it...
     
  6. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #6
    yeah. the tether me package is glitchy. as i said above. carrier package tethering is fine.
     
  7. JeffiJers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Location:
    U.S.
    #7
    Are there any working tethers for the 5s yet?

    Only JB for tether so I know little about JB.

    pda net doesn't work for me.
     
  8. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #8
    The OP is having problems with his carriers hotspot feature

    I have tetherme and there is not bugs with it. It works fine as long as you don't reboot the phone.
     
  9. borgqueenx thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #9
    Well, connecting my ipad to my iphone(iphone hotspot) it connects and works. But putting my ipad to sleep for 30 secs, the iphone disables the hotspot, when in standby. I need the iphone to stay available to connect. Not turn itself off in another app or when in standby.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    It does that for a reason.
    If it broadcasts all the time without anything connected your phones batery will die very fast.
     
  11. borgqueenx thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #11
    I have external battery packs. I need it to stay going as long as i have enabled it.
    Thats why i want a tweak that does this...
    I would even pay for it. But not 20usd for mifi...
     
  12. sammy-boy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    #12
    I've found the tethering auto-disconnects iOS devices when they're put to sleep, but if tethering an Android device the tethering stays active on the iPhone, maybe a difference in how the devices 'sleep'?
     
  13. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #13



    TetherMe has a feature to keep broadcasting. Perhaps this is what you're looking for?
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    There is hacks like insomnia but almost nothing works yet with ios 7 so you will have to wait.
     
  15. lanceuppercut47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #15
    This, this is the answer. My Air's plan has native tethering, however if left alone, it (tethering) invariably switches itself off and needs to be reenabled again for something to connect to it.
     
  16. borgqueenx thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #16
    really? thats exactly what i need. i guess it needs mobilesubstrate though xD
     

Share This Page