Malware - 'Completer wants to make changes..'

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Big Stevie, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. Big Stevie, Jan 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2015

    Big Stevie macrumors 6502a

    Big Stevie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Are there any threads already on this subject?

    Keep getting this pop up stating 'Completer wants to make changes to your computer', and asking for my password. Google search states its malware affecting lots of macbook users. Im also getting an icon appear on my desktop called 'Installer'.

    Lots of folk reporting the free software AdwareMedic will find and remove the cause of the problem which is a Geneio file, but I haven't dared try it yet.

    Anyone else getting this problem?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Yep... you have installed the adware Geneio on there.

    Restart and do a safe mode boot by holding down the shift key as it boots. This will prevent any login or startup items (like the adware) from launching.

    Now download Adwaremedic from here and run it to remove Geneio. Restart afterwards.

    That installermc or installer on the desktop is part of Geneio also.
     
  3. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

    sjinsjca

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #3
    Excellent and actionable advice, Weaselboy.

    OP, post back when you've tried Weasel's suggestions.
     
  4. Big Stevie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big Stevie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    UK
  5. Big Stevie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big Stevie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks for the info, I have just completed the above. Below is what adwaremedic found on my macbook pro. Not sure what the Awesome Screenshot file is, but hopefully all unwanted files have now been removed :)



    [​IMG]
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Here's some info about Awesome Screeshot
    http://www.thesafemac.com/screenshot-extension-injects-ads/
    which should explain why the adwaremedic pointed that out.
     
  7. Big Stevie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big Stevie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #7
  8. Artimus12 macrumors 6502

    Artimus12

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    YooKay
    #8
    Wow! I didn't realise Awesome Screenshot harboured malware. Adwaremedic also found "Spigot" on mine! Both now gone.

    Thanks to all for the thread and answers.
     
  9. Big Stevie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big Stevie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Im just surprised that there aren't any other threads on Geneio as it seems to be affecting lots of macbook owners.
     
  10. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #10
    I've seen several threads that mention Geneio. Google finds a lot of posts as well. ????
     
  11. ecschwarz macrumors 6502a

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #11
    We've had a lot of people who have been having this happen (especially college students who use less-than-official movie/TV streaming sites). Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't Gatekeeper supposed to allow Apple to put an end to things like this once they appear?
     
  12. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #12
    The "Anywhere" option will prevent Gatekeeper from doing it's job.
     
  13. ecschwarz macrumors 6502a

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #13
    Right - it's been a couple of days since I've seen an infected machine, but I seem to recall most of these being with users that wouldn't change from the default "Mac App Store and Identified Developers" or try to override things. I'll keep an eye out next time, but it seems that Gatekeeper is only being used for actual malware as opposed to adware.
     
  14. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #14
    How to fix adware problems on your Mac http://www.imore.com/how-fix-adware-problems-your-mac
     
  15. Big Stevie, Jan 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2015

    Big Stevie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Big Stevie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Searching this forum for 'Geneio' only reveals three other threads, and only two of those are referring to anyone having issues. Ive read elsewhere that a recent Flash update could have caused the problem?

    [​IMG]


    There are plenty of discussions about it on google, hence why I expected more threads discussing it on here.
     
  16. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #16
    You're misspelling it. It's Genieo.
     
  17. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #17
    It can help if you spell "genieo" correctly for a search :D
    http://forums.macrumors.com/search.php?searchid=51023796
     
  18. Weaselboy, Jan 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2015

    Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #18
    That is exactly the problem and it is sad. For whatever reason, Apple has made a conscious decision not to add these adware programs to XProtect.

    The dev. of the Adware Medic app writes about it here. He has submitted some of this adware to Apple for inclusion in XProtect and it was apparently ignored. Apple even has a support article on the subject here, so they do know of the problem.

    I agree with the author of that article that Apple probably does not want to get into deciding what is "good" vs. bad adware and disrupt the adware supported software model.

    Ackk... that's more my fault for misspelling it in my post and leading Big Stevie astray. :eek:
     
  19. ecschwarz macrumors 6502a

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #19
    I was trying to find that article, but gave up after a few attempts and then forgot to look again - thanks for sharing that.
     
  20. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #20
    I noticed a new article on the same site here today. Looks like Apple is finally cracking down on Genieo and they have added it to the Protect definitions.
     

Share This Page