iPhone Malware in phone, need to reset+jailbreak. Help?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by monicat2, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. monicat2, Feb 12, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013

    monicat2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #1
    Completed!! Thanks for everyone's input!

    I never changed my root password after jailbreaking since I didn't know how to and Terminal did not work (but now I know how to through my computer). I never had any problems until a few weeks ago at my university. Someone got into it and now my network access is cut off by my school (it was supposedly attacking other computers), and in order to get it back, I need to reset my iPhone to factory settings. Also, my battery life decreases extremely fast whenever it's connected to wifi, presumably from the malware, so I'd really like to get my phone back to the way it was before.

    My device is an iPhone 4.

    A few questions:
    I unlocked it last year through an IMEI unlock thing from ebay. Will my phone stay unlocked after I restore it?

    If I restore my iPhone to factory settings through iTunes, will it automatically be restored to iOS 6.1? It is currently 5.0.1. If it doesn't, should I restore anyways, then update, then jailbreak?

    I already backed up my phone in iTunes. The malware shouldn't stick with the backup, right?

    I apologize if any of my questions were answered in the past. I'd just either 1) like clarification/a more recent answer or 2) did not see them.
     
  2. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #2
    Wow never actually heard of an iPhone getting attacked by a harmful virus
     
  3. Fatalbert, Feb 12, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013

    Fatalbert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    #3
    It seems possible to me that the malware could stay in the iTunes backup. I think you can just put it in DFU mode and restore with iTunes. Either way, before you wipe it, get a copy of the SSH access log if there is one! There might be info in there leading to the attacker.

    EDIT: OpenSSH does NOT keep an access log.

    ----------

    It's not a virus.
     
  4. monicat2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #4
    How would I get a copy of the SSH access log?
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Someone could only get into it if they had physical access to it or you installed SSH. If you didn't install SSH, then your device is clean.
     
  6. monicat2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #6
    Yes, I have SSH installed.

    Oh now I realized my computer isn't detecting my iPhone. :confused: I haven't connected the two via USB cable in a long time since I've always just charged from a wall charger. I guess all this will have to wait.
     
  7. Fatalbert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    #7
    In Mac OS, it's in /private/var/log in the secure.log document I think. I don't know if it's the same in iOS. I don't see such a file on my iPhone, but I uninstalled OpenSSH a long time ago, so it might have been wiped.

    ----------

    Even in DFU mode? Isn't DFU unmodifiable?
     
  8. monicat2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #8

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    That's a problem with Windows, not your iPhone.
     
  10. Fatalbert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    #10
    Uhhh... Try it on a Mac or on a different Windows PC. And if your PC can't charge it, it's probably a hardware issue.
     
  11. monicat2, Feb 12, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013

    monicat2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #11
    I re-installed iTunes but it still did not detect my iPhone. I know my friend messed with some drivers related to iTunes that had to do with burning discs or something like that, but maybe it had to do with detecting my iPhone too. It was new at the time but something wasn't working, and after messing with the drivers whatever it was that wasn't working worked. Wifi sync seems to work fine... Just tried it with another laptop and it does work!! Thank you for all the help!!
     
  12. Mrg02d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #12
    You need to delete the drivers for your phone and then let your computer reinstall them.
     

Share This Page