MAMP Access phpMyAdmin Remotely

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by djab, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. djab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Location:
    West Virginia, United States of America
    #1
    Does anyone know of a way for people to access phpMyAdmin from MAMP remotely through a browser? This would be very helpful. Thanks!
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Should work by default. Check the httpd.conf file for confirmation. You'll be looking for the part with,
    HTML:
    <Directory "/Applications/MAMP/bin/phpMyAdminForPHP5">
    One thing to watch out for though is that there's no default password (if I remember correctly) so anyone can go in and add/delete tables and database.
     
  3. djab thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Location:
    West Virginia, United States of America
    #3
    Here is what i have in the httpd.conf file

    It seems as if it lets people access it....hmmm:confused: but it wont let me for some reason from another computer...
    Code:
    Alias /phpMyAdminForPHP5 "/Applications/MAMP/bin/phpMyAdminForPHP5"
    
    <Directory "/Applications/MAMP/bin/phpMyAdminForPHP5">
        Options Indexes MultiViews
        AllowOverride None
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
    </Directory>
     
  4. djab thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Location:
    West Virginia, United States of America
    #4
    Nevermind got it working....how can i do it so they have to log in with the user name, password and database name to access their data?

    Thanks
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    From what I remember you can setup accounts from within phpMyAdmin.

    As far as accessing from other machines, is only that directory inaccessible? Also, are these other computers on your network, or from completely other locations?
     
  6. djab thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Location:
    West Virginia, United States of America
    #6
    How does this work? Does it display a feild for database name, username, and password? and only lets the user access that or how does this work? How is this configured?


    What do you mean? Not understanding this question...
     
  7. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Looks like it was only adjusting permissions for users. To add users, you can do it from Terminal and login into MySQL directly.


    I mean can users access other parts of the web site, such as the home page or each others pages? And are these people on your network or people outside your network?
     
  8. a55mnky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #8
    I am having the same problem

    Did it occur to you that others might have the same issue and just saying oooh I figured it out isn't a very constructive contribution

    May I ask how you figured it out
     

Share This Page