Managing Hundreds of Videos & Clips?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by StofUnited, Feb 15, 2011.

1. StofUnited macrumors member

Here is a doozy guys:

I am needing to transcode, cut and manage 100s to 1000s of clips for an online sports league I am involved with.

More directly - I need to easily know how to manage all this footage (including specific locations of goals, hits, saves,) from what could turn out to be over 100 games in order to use them in projects in the future.

I am new to developing and managing projects of any kind, especially one this big.

I use iMovie and Final Cut Studio.

Thoughts anyone?

2. simsaladimbamba

You could use MPEG Streamclip and its Batch List (CMD+B) to transcode the videos to a proper format (.mov using AIC or ProRes for video and Uncompressed for audio) to use it in Final Cut Pro.
    You could then use "bins", lots of them for every game and tag the shots with different colours or even clip names or maybe even make duplicates (does not duplicate the original media) and then sort in bins named "hits", "goals" and so forth.
    http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage/fcp_7_labels_markers_stone.html

Btw, do you have enough storage capacity, as one hour of DV encoded video (Standard Definition - PAL or NTSC) takes up 12/13 GB, one hour of AIC encoded footage takes from 13 GB (SD) to 49 GB (1080i60), ProRes 422 HQ up to 100 GB per hour. (http://images.apple.com/finalcutstudio/resources/white_papers/L342568A_ProRes_WP.pdf)

3. StofUnited thread starter macrumors member

Yeah lots of storage and archiving is organized elsewhere.

One problem I have is that much of the footage I will receive I will want to throw away. Was thinking of using the iMovie capabilities of deleting an event "except for what is used in a project" function to do that. I can't think of any other way to get rid of what I don't need.

I will use compressor and droplets probably to do the transcoding (and maybe MPEG Strmclp from time to time).