Manual focus

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by beingme, Jul 20, 2007.

  1. beingme macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #1
    On my dslr, to change from autofocus to manual there is a switch on the lens. Is this the same for film slrs?
     
  2. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #2
    Just like with digital, it depends, sometimes you have to flip a body switch, some lenses don't allow manual override without changing modes and some allow manual override while it's in autofocus mode. Generally though the focus modules for the digitals are the same mechanically as those used in the more recent film bodies.
     
  3. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #3
    yes... especially if you end up using the SAME lens.

    Your question is basically if everything works on a film SLR as it would on a dSLR. If you have an AF lens (with the switch to turn to MF), and you put that lens on a AF SLR, the function will work just like it did on your dSLR. If you tried, on the other hand to put a 70-200 VR (say you're using a Nikon) on an FM 10 (a manual SLR), you will find that the lens won't fit.
     
  4. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    If you were to mount your lens on a film SLR I guess the switch would still be right there on the lens in the same place.

    But then on ALL of my auto-focus SLR bodies, film and digital there is a switch on the body. Some of my lenses have the switch too. The newer ones all do.

    Of course my manual focus bodies lack the switch but if I mount an AF lens on the manual body the swich does nothing. Same when I mount a manual focus lens on an AF body the switch on the lens (if there is one) does nothing

    Oh, one more thing. My new Nikon AF-S lens has a sensor inside the focus ring that turns off AF if you rotate the ring. This way you don't have to flip a switch to go into manual mode.

    Clear? Ok, sorry. Short answer is "all combinations are possible"
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    Are you sure? I thought the 70-200 acts like an AI-S on a the FM10.

    My only manual SLR is an F2 and I don't have a 70-200 so I can't test this but in general all F-mount lenses at least "fit" all f-mount bodies although there are exceptions and limitations
     

Share This Page