Manually removing a Cydia source

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by darngooddesign, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    I just JB 312 and when I added simon.chronophoto.fr it didn't take. It doesn't show up under Manage > Sources, but it checks and errors each time I start up Cydia. Can I pull it from a plist somewhere?
     
  2. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/

    See it there?

    All the packaged sources are their own .list file but the sources added manually are in Cydia.list
     
  3. darngooddesign thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Awesome, thanks.

    Is anyone that's using that repo having issuers with it?
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Repos go up and down like the temperature. Not unusual.
     
  5. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #5
    Good question! Now I have one:

    Say I re-jailbreak my phone with a new, fresh install of Cydia. Can I SSH that file to my Mac and manually edit that file on my computer to add sources instead of doing them one-by-one on my iPhone? That'd be sweeet!! :cool: Thanks guys!
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    I tried adding a single source that way once, and Cydia did not add it, so in my experience, no.

    Just buy PkgBackup for $2 or $3. It reinstalls all your sources and all your Cydia apps and works without a hitch.

    AppBackup is free but it screwed my phone up so bad I had to restore to official Apple firmware and start over so I won't use it or recommend it.
     
  7. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    Hmmm, ok. Thought I'd ask. Yeah I've heard of PkgBackup. Idk, I may have to give it a shot!! I was hearing that when you restore from PkgBackup, sometimes the order in which things install can mess up your programs/filesystem? I wonder if that is true or not. If not then that's the easy winner for me!
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    I have used it on 2 different phones after JB and both went perfect.

    The only wrinkle I saw was some of the repos I added were put back in with the standard repo section, but I don't care as long as they are in Cydia and work, who cares what section they are in.
     
  9. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #9
    Oh wow alright! I'll give that a try for next time then! Thanks :cool:
     
  10. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Actually... You can, but it's not quite as simple (still is very simple though :)). If you have installed APT already you should be able to add them as you described but then you have to update APT by running the command
    Code:
    su root
    apt-get update
    That will update APT with the latest sources. Should then be good to go. If anyone wants to give it a try.
     
  11. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #11
    Update: I put the file in the folder, and it added the sources without any other commands!!!! Thats awesome.
     
  12. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    You put a .list file in the folder and Cydia added it? Cool. I thought that's probably what cydia does every time it boots...
    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade
    First updates the sources, second checks for package upgrades and such. :D Cool!
     
  13. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #13
    Oh nice, ok! Lol, that'll be another important (time-saving) file to backup when I do upgrades! Thanks ViViD!
     
  14. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    So I'm assuming you did just put the .list file in there?

    The one thing with it is that some of those .list files are added as part of packages... So if they ever change or add more server addresses the sources can be updated in Cydia. You would not be able to do that by adding these manually.
     
  15. wgr73 macrumors 6502a

    wgr73

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #15
    Yes I did. Oh, thats true then huh?! Hmmmm
     

Share This Page