Maps Flyover on IOS 6 for 4S

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Angelo921, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. Angelo921 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #1
    I cant get the flyover feature to work on my iphone 4s while using the maps program. Anyone know how? I pressed the 3D button but that didnt work. Im in Chicago if that makes a difference with the maps. thx

    ----------

    I just figured it out. Wasnt in hybrid or satellite mode.
     
  2. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #2
    To the best of my knowledge its not like Google's 3D fly over which is like an automated tour. Apples is just a manual sort of thing. Just turn on satellite view and press 3D....

    Here is a pic of Chicago...notice the buildings are 3D....

    [​IMG]

    Edit: see you already figured it out.
     
  3. Angelo921 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #3

    Thanks for your response. I do see however that if I go back to voice turn by turn directions that the flyover 3d goes away. Is that the same with yours.
     
  4. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #4
    Unfortunately yes. I can't get it to navigate in satellite view. In Apples defense where you can navigate in satellite view with Google you lose 3D buildings, so its kind of pointless anyway.
     
  5. Angelo921 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #5
    totally agree with you. hopefully they improve it in the future.
     
  6. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6


    .....add an odd caveat too. 3D icon means NOT 3D (Flyover).:confused::eek: If 3D/Flyover is available it has the 3 building icon like in cynics post/pic.
     

Share This Page