Maps won't show current location

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by GP-SE, Oct 19, 2013.

  1. GP-SE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #1
    hey guys, I have a 2009 Mac Pro running Mavericks 10.9 GM.
    No issues at all except in maps the button to choose "current location" is greyed out, and I cannot choose my current location. I have location services turned on Under "privacy" in System Preferences. Any idea how to fix this?
     
  2. KoolAid-Drink macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Try turning off Location Services, restart, then turn back on Location Services. (when you restart, when asked if you want to reopen apps, uncheck this!)

    If still no go, try a repair of permissions. Try using Google Maps in Safari to see if it can find your location - if it still can't, it's possibly an issue with your router misdirecting your location or even preventing it.

     
  3. matthewadams macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #3
    Are you using WiFi or Ethernet? Location services rely on Wifi, so make sure if thats on:) (and in case youre going over ethernet, rearrange the service order with ethernet on #1 in System Prefs - Networking).
     
  4. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Doesn't work on a Mac Pro unless you install a Wi-Fi card. You can't just be on a network that has Wi-Fi, it must be installed. I have the same Mac Pro "problem".
     
  5. GP-SE thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #5
    ahh I see, I'm using ethernet, not wi-fi.
    So unless I get a wifi card, it won't work correct?
     
  6. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Correct, you must have a Wi-Fi card installed for it to work. Not sure why Apple doesn't allow your ethernet connection to a Wi-Fi enabled network to work but they don't.

    Could be a little bit of the non legacy support (you need to upgrade) since all current Mac's have Wi-Fi.
     

Share This Page