Marathon Infinity Problem

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Rollershapple, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. Rollershapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    Ok so I tried running Marathon infinity in classic mode after I just downloaded it from bungie.com. So I downloaded it and it automaticly unziped the sit file with expander onto my desktop. I opened up the folder and clicked the icon for Marathon Infinity 1.5. So than classic mode started up. After classic mode was done starting, I just got a blank black screen that flashed a couple of times and than, the top 3rd of the screen turned white and had a few pixely, ill-legible icons but i had no mouse. after that nothing I pressed would do anything for the game. So I force quit. Now I get flashes on my screen every couple of minutes from classic mode. Does anyone know what problem Im having with this? Is it my iBook, the game, or is it classic mode?
    Help would really be appreciated.

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #2
    So, why haven't you downloaded an OSX version of AlephOne?

    Find an OSX version of AlephOne, and use it, instead of using classic. It will be faster, less hassle, and you won't have any crazy problems.

    If you don't know what AlephOne is, it's the engine that MI uses. Just do a google on it, and you should find it. Just stick the app in the MI folder, and open it instead of whatever came with the game. You may have to go to "Environment" in the Preferences, and find all the relevant files (4 of them), but it should do it automatically.

    Classic sucks.

    And find EMR3.0 also. It's on the Apple downloads page somewhere. Way, way better than Marathon. Taking AlephOne to the edge!
     
  3. Rollershapple thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #3
    Hah wow that fixed my problem pretty fast. Thanks!
     
  4. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #4
    No Problems.
    Freeware Rules!
     
  5. Justin.C macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #5
    I'm having similar problems...

    I saw this thread and thought it might work for me too; so I downloaded Aleph One. Surprise, surprise; it didn't work. It just brings up a little box which says:
    'Warning
    The following disk images failed to mount
    Image Reason
    Aleph One - 20100 Corrupt image'

    I don't really know what to do to be honest. :confused:
    Thanks in advance to whomever comes to my rescue! :)

    Justin
     
  6. Thedutchjelle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    #6
    Hello Justin,

    I think your download might be corrupted, somehow. You did get your download from this site ( http://source.bungie.org/index.php?title=Get_Marathon ) ?
    I just downloaded Aleph One from there to verify if that one works, and for me it properly mounts. The version I got was 20100218 .

    Good luck and hopefully happy marathoning!
    Jelle
     
  7. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Still the best FPS ever conceived. The writing and storyline is genius.

    If you can get your hands on the original Marathon 1 CD, try some of the included mods. Simply wonderful. I don't recall, but the mods might be available online in a usable format.
     

Share This Page