Mask Layers not working properly

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by bMorpheus, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. bMorpheus macrumors newbie

    bMorpheus

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I'm using PS 8/CS1.

    Here's the problem

    1. I create a mask from the layers palette and cut out the background from the image
    2. I apply the outer glow to the mask and use precise, however, the glow seems to be applied to the whole image even though I have created a mask. I have been using this technique for years and it let's me see if I have any stray pixels I need to eliminate.
    This also happens if I choose the stroke effect.

    It's as though my layer masks are screwed up and not working. :(

    I don't understand why it is doing this. It IS driving me crazy.

    If anyone thinks I should upload some examples of my work, I would be more than happy to such as one I'm having trouble with and one that has worked in the past.

    I hope that you can help me with this problem. I would definitely appreciate any help I could receive.
     
  2. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #2
    Yeah upload them. It never hurts and it helps a lot of users get a better understanding of what is going on. And no problem with the Motion thing.
     
  3. bMorpheus thread starter macrumors newbie

    bMorpheus

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I hope this works, first time uploading files

    The image of the angel is the one I'm having problems with, I create a layer and use a red background then use the lasso tool to cut the background from the image layer. I then apply the glow filter from the layer palette and choose precise, this technique allows me to see stray pixels I might have missed when cutting out the background from the image.

    From what I noticed is the background doesn't seem to be cut out completely and the glow is showing around the whole image.

    This is also happening if I use the stroke effect.


    The image of Billy & George shows how I have been able to do this in the past. You will notice that I didn't clean ALL the stray pixels in the upper right hand corner, as well as in between Billy and George heads.


    I hope I described my problem where it makes sense to you.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #4
    It helps to describe it a little bit. From the looks of the angel image there's still a background to it, or at least there's no Alpha channel.

    Try using the Extract Filter to remove the background. It helps a little more with things like that and uses contract between edges to remove backgrounds and add alpha.

    Highlight the edges of object with green, and fill in what you want to keep with blue.

    Or, try the eraser tool with a feathered edge to remove the background, and make sure you have the checkered background.
     
  5. Kwill macrumors 68000

    Kwill

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    #5
    Nothin' from nothin' leaves nothin'

    I can't say for certain what is causing your problem. I've followed the steps in CS3 without a problem. PSD file is attached for comparison.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. bMorpheus thread starter macrumors newbie

    bMorpheus

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    I think I've figured out what was happening

    Apparently the hide layers effects box got selected in the Effects dialogue box. :eek:

    After playing around with it some more I noticed that the check box was selected, I deselected it and tried several pics to see if everything was back to normal. So far so good.

    Thanks to everyone for their suggestions.:D
     

Share This Page