Mass Effect Andromeda PC Broken?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by EnderBeta, Mar 26, 2017.

  1. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #1
    Is anyone else having problems with Mass Effect Andromeda on PC?

    For whatever reason I can't get the game to play past the intro movie. I either get some nature scene screen saver or a dialog prompt that doesn't work. It works fine on my PS4 Pro but I was looking forward to trying it out in 4K.

    I am running the game release driver for the game from NVidia. Windows 10 is up to date. The SSD is the same SSD I game on with other games like the Division and that drive is working fine.

    I'm fairly frustrated that after waiting days for that slow origin download I get something that doesn't work. :cry: On top of that I know the download speed wasn't my machine because it has a gigabit Ethernet connection just like my PS4 Pro and the PS4 Pro downloaded the same game in 1.5 hours.
     
  2. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #2
    Looks like you have SLI in your sig...

    Maybe the game doesn't support SLI?
     
  3. EnderBeta thread starter macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #3
    If a game doesn't support SLI it doesn't use the second card. It doesn't lock up. I have in all the years of using SLI never seen this kind of behavior.
     
  4. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #4
    I never had two nVidia GPUs in SLI, but when I had the 2013 Mac Pro I've used it in CrossFire mode in Windows. Most games that didn't support it they just used one GPU. But there were a few exceptions where I had to turn off Crossfire cause otherwise the game had problems.
     
  5. EnderBeta thread starter macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #5
    I have been using SLI since 2008. It isn't the issue....
     
  6. EnderBeta thread starter macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #6
    I deleted the install last night and downloaded it again. This time the download was much faster. When it was finished downloading the game worked this time.

    Whatever it was must have been fixed. It's possible that the super slow download resulted in a failed download on some random file and didn't throw a error.

    Anyways I'm happy to be able to play on the computer now. :)
     
  7. jeremysteele macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #7
    Oddly enough, I had something similar happen with the original Mass Effect on steam. On the first download it din't run past a certain point (I believe when trying to go down a specific staircase in the citadel). Apparently it was common for steam to corrupt one file during download. Did a verify local cache, which fetched a giant file, and all was well after that.

    Maybe the way their files are compressed make them more prone to errors? Who knows. It boggles the mind.
     

Share This Page