Masters in Communications Design in NYC

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by MHDG, Apr 3, 2009.

1. MHDG macrumors newbie

Hello all,

This is my first post. I work in finance right now (6 years) and want to transition into the design field to pursue a career in communications design and/or design research. While I have a lot of the business/management/comunication skills, I don't have refreshed technical skills (in Photoshop, Illustrator, etc.) I have to stay in New York and have been exploring some Master degree programs. Here is what I have found to date:

NYU-Tisch: Interactive Telecommunications Program (MPS degree)
    NYU-School of Continuing Education: Graphic Communications Management and Technology (MA degree)
    Pratt: Communications Design (MS degree)

Which do you think would be the best program for me, given my background and what I want to do? I'm looking for a school and program that is reputable, has good resources (especially in career services when it comes to finding internships and a full time job) and a reputable and involved faculty.

I don't know any people in the industry, and while I've met with all the schools, I would really like an unbiased opinion. If there any other programs in NYC that I should be looking at, please let me know. Thanks in advance!

2. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

SFStateStudent