Matlab Install on MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LifeCerealRocks, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. LifeCerealRocks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    Hey guys, I was trying to install my student version of matlab on my MBP today, however, it gives me an error message saying "There was an unexpected exception. See the log file (/temp/activation.log) for more details." What does this mean guys? :confused::(
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I thought Matlab was a drag and drop like every other app?

    Also if you can, get Maple or Mathematica.
     
  3. LifeCerealRocks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #3
    Yeah, we get mathematica for free. I've got solidworks and pro-e (through bootcamp) but maple would be nice. So any ideas on the problem?
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  5. LifeCerealRocks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    I tried, but I can't find it... you have let me down for the last time spotlight *throws MBP out the window*
     
  6. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #6
    What version of Matlab are trying to install? r2007a? r2008?

    Edit: here's a note from the Student Install Manual:

     
  7. LifeCerealRocks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #7
    I've got no idea, I bought this freshman year (Fall 2006), the installation icon says MATLAB Student 7.1.

    Sweet dog, is that a cavalier king charles? I've got 2 back home.
     
  8. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #8
    Yep, it is indeed.

    Did you take a look at the quote I have from the installation pdf about naming the install folder? Did you accept the default configuration?

    Also, I think you need to have X11 installed in order to run Matlab on OSX.
     
  9. LifeCerealRocks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #9
    Yup, I accepted the default configuration, I'll d/l X11 and try the naming the install folder technique.

    So, I have X11 installed, and I'm just installing it under my applications, I'm not putting it in a user created folder.

    Any other suggestions? *sad face*
     

Share This Page