Matlab Not Working in Yosemite Beta 5

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by itsmike2013, Oct 12, 2014.

  1. itsmike2013 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    #1
    I am currently taking a Matlab class and really need to get it working again. I have a MacBook Pro 15in mid 2012 running Yosemite beta 5 and I'm trying to run Matlab but it keeps giving me an error that says:

    You can’t use this version of the application “MATLAB_R2014a” with this version of OS*X.
    You have “MATLAB_R2014a” R2014a (8.3.0).

    Does anyone know how to get Matlab working again. I had a workaround that let me open it when I was running beta 2 but that no longer seems to work. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. awests macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #2
    Are you the same guy from reddit?

    Have you modified the .plist file? to show 10.90 instead of 10.10?
     
  3. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #3
    Did you contact the developer of Mathlab to see if they were working on an update?
     
  4. j800r macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Coventry, West mids, England
    #4
    There's already a thread people were using for broken apps. If an app's not compatible you need to contact the developer really.

    Also, if you need your Mac for things such as studies and classes then you really shouldn't have installed a beta OS. Or at least installed it to a separate partition.
     
  5. Aquamite macrumors regular

    Aquamite

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #5
    It's a beta. I don't think you should use an operating system in beta on a computer you need for daily work. My advice is get Mavericks 10.9.5 and get on with it.
     
  6. Sangoma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    #6

    Maybe, but in a week the official version will probably be released an the OP's problem will likely still be there.

    I agree to get hold of Mathworks and ask them for advice
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    According to Mathworks site, the latest version is R2014b - and lists Yosemite as supported. You could try that version.
    http://www.mathworks.com/support/sysreq/current_release/index.html?sec=mac
    You might need to wait a week or two until final Yosemite is released (or whenever).
    I would bet that Mathworks would not have much incentive to get their software to fully work on a beta system.
     
  8. freeskier93 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #8
    I replied to you in my other thread.

    R2014b start official support for Yosemite and I can confirm it works fine on PB5. It's unknown whether older versions will work upon full release of Yosemite. For now modify SystemVersion.plist and run Matlab through its executable.
     
  9. itsmike2013 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    #9
    I changed the plist file for now and it seems to be working again. Thanks everyone for the replies.
     
  10. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #10
    MatLAB R2014a: beyond the SystemVersion.plist workaround for Yosemite

    In Stack Exchange:

    MATLab crashes on launch OS X Yosemite

    – there's an accepted answer (comparable to the workaround given in this topic), and more popular answers. http://superuser.com/a/806090/84988 looks particularly promising.

    I don't use MatLAB myself, but have you (users) tried any of the other workarounds?

    Without reference to Yosemite: I do know that aliasing, as suggested in one of the answers, is a good workaround for some types of issue with Java-based apps.
     
  11. nontroppo macrumors 6502

    nontroppo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #11
    Just to mention that even with SystemVersion.plist edited and alias set up, Matlab < 2014b is still very unstable in Yosemite, it can work for variable amounts of time, then all windows fail to update-paint.

    2014b works well, and this is probably the most significant and welcome update to Matlab in years (new graphics system).
     
  12. awests macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #12
    I've had no issues with 2014a with Yosemite once I got it working...
     
  13. bennibeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #13
    Why hacking the old version and not update to the new version? Looks like it makes life much easier.
     
  14. nontroppo, Oct 13, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2014

    nontroppo macrumors 6502

    nontroppo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #14
    Because Matlab is formidably expensive and upgrades are not free (unless your university or employer have a contract, my university does). I know many research labs that buy a version and they have to stick with it due to cost for years...
     
  15. freeskier93 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #15
    Because Matlab isn't your everyday consumer level software and when you buy a license it's only for that version. Each twice yearly release is considered a major revision and requires a new license. No different than Adobe products or any other high end product.

    Mathworks does have a software maintenance service, which I believe will let you upgrade for so many years, but it's one of those call and get a quote type things. More geared towards businesses and universities.
     
  16. bennibeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #16
    I know matlab but I knew the licenses are pretty expensive (what I remember maybe its not that expensive) but 2 releases each year which require a new license.. wow.
     
  17. SarcasticJoe macrumors 6502a

    SarcasticJoe

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
    This level of greed is why I personally use GNU Octave (a free open source alternative)... Only actual problem I've run into is that sound is broken, which meant I had to output sound as waveforms and play them in an external program when I did a course in Signals Processing.
     
  18. freeskier93 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #18
    Twice yearly updates might be a bit excessive, but this type of software is an investment for companies and ultimately makes them more money. Really no better or worse than lots of other professional software like SolidWorks, Abaqus, ANSYS, etc.

    Open source is great, but doesn't fly in the corporate world of getting things done.
     
  19. SarcasticJoe, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    SarcasticJoe macrumors 6502a

    SarcasticJoe

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    I suppose there's nothing you can really do about old fashioned managers who ether think that free software is inherently suspect or are complacent enough that they rather waste huge amounts of their employers' money than putting the effort to switch to a free alternative.
     

Share This Page