Matrox dual monitor headache2go!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ziphur, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. ziphur macrumors member

    ziphur

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi all, been a while since I have visited but my current headache has brought me back here like a fish to water!

    I have a very old, very good MacBook Pro and am trying desperately to run two separate monitors with the laptop in clamshell, I have chosen a Matrox DualHead2Go. The software available via the Matrox site is not working for my monitors, I've tried everything and its just not having it. I have:

    MacBook Pro, 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2, NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 128 MB
    x2 Acer S220HQL monitors
    DualHead2go (analogue type)

    I have already raised a query with Matrox which I've tried but it hasn't helped.

    You may not need to download software to put the system in “clamshell” mode. If you set the resolution to a single screen resolution such as 1024 x 768 or 1280 x 1024, the Dual screens will mirror each other. Close the lid on the MacBook Pro and if the screens come back up in mirrored mode simply raise the resolution to a dual screen resolution such as 2048 x 768 or 2560 x 1024. Should you feel the need to install the Matrox PowerDesk software, it can be found here: http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/support/drivers/download/?id=561 . We hope this information finds you well. Thank you for contacting Matrox.

    Perhaps I am not being specific, what I am looking for is for one of the monitors to act like the laptop acted when I used a single monitor, ie I could drag documents over, have separate apps open in each window, I require the same but this time with the laptop closed and for the monitors to work independently such as primary and secondary, at the moment all I have is a mirror image..

    Please help! This is really disrupting my work pattern and I've tons to get done by the weekend :(

    TIA

    Z
     
  2. a.coward macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #2
    If I understand what you are trying to do correctly, then it's not
    possible. The dualhead2go makes the two screens look as if it's
    one big screen. So, OSX will treat this as a single screen and
    therefore not allow you to do all that cool screen splitting stuff
    as if it were two independent screens.

    I have the DP version of the dualhead2go and spend some time
    looking for some software which would emulate dual screens on
    a single screen, but did not find anything. There are, however,
    utilities out there which will improve window management, such
    as being able to automatically resize windows to certain dimensions
    (e.g. to half of the "big" screen), but they really did not work
    that well with my workflow.

    All this was about a year ago and I have not touched it again
    since, so maybe things have changed since then.
     
  3. ziphur thread starter macrumors member

    ziphur

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Perhaps I should just salvage all the software and buy a Power mac or similar then, I take it running two independent screens off of a tower is less of a headache?:mad:
     
  4. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    Why would you buy a computer that stopped being made in 2006? Doesn't sound like a wise choice to me.
     

Share This Page