Maverick installs with Raid-0 SSD boot drives -GOOD TO GO?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whyrichard, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hey,

    i am dying to upgrade to maverick on my '09 mac pro...

    ... what is the verdict on a mac pro with raid 0 ssd boot drives? any issues with raid 0 hard drives and maverick installs?

    thanks,
    r.
     
  2. Executor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #2
    No problems here upgrading to Mavericks with Raid 0 as boot drives on my 2010 Mac Pro. Great OS.
     
  3. tradman macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Galway, Ireland
    #3
    Hi,
    Just thinking about upgrading my mbp with raid0 to Mavericks. Was it a straight forward install for you guys, i.e select raid drive to update and away you go. I'm hoping I could avoid having to install on one drive and merge the two again thus having to reinstall everything etc. Thanks in advance
     
  4. k-hawinkler macrumors member

    k-hawinkler

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #4

    I simply used CCC to make a clone of my boot drive onto a RAID 0.
    Works fine.

    What one doesn't get in that way is a seperate recovery partion.
    CCC can create one on a single drive or single SSD though.
     
  5. tradman macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Galway, Ireland
    #5

    Thanks for the reply. Thinking about getting rid of raid 0 now and just using a boot up disk and the 2nd disk for storage of my pictures. I'll use ccc for sure.
    Thanks again for the response.
    Damien
     

Share This Page