Mavericks allows MBP 13 to use 1 GB VRAM HD4000

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Davy.Shalom, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. Davy.Shalom macrumors 6502

    Davy.Shalom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #1
    So I installed Mavericks and saw this image. This is pretty cool! I wonder if allowing OS X to access more VRAM will affect noticeably affect performance in applications that are GPU intensive.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Treeman574 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #2
    Interesting. On 10.8 it's listed as 384mb, so this could be a significant improvement.
     
  3. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #3
    For me it lists 512 MB. Quite odd, how did the OS get an extra .5 GB to use? :eek:
     
  4. FSMBP macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #4
    Just outta curiosity, do you have the same exact Mac as the OP? Same processor speed, 16GB Ram, Mavericks?

    I'm curious if Processor Speed makes a difference, even though it shouldn't.
     
  5. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #5
    No, I have the base cMBP. 2.5 GHz i5, 4GB RAM, Mountain Lion.
     
  6. DavidG328 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Interesting, just noticed the same on mine. Base 13" 2012 model, and it has 1 GB now.
     
  7. durkkin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    #7
    Same with my rMBP with 8GB RAM. Must be part of the compressed memory and the more responsive VRAM/GPU they were talking about yesterday. All they did was allow the GPU to access more of the system memory, which is purely a software thing. Don't know how it will affect gaming, but it will certainly improve rendering and OpenCL tasks.
     
  8. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    Its just a driver improvement. The concept of VRAM is quite pointless in regards to the iGPU. I assume that the old driver was sometimes performing redundant memory copies, while the 10.9 driver reduces the numbers of such copies to bare minimum.
     
  9. LYFK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #9
    I just noticed the same thing with my 13"MBA 8GB, that's great! I'm almost regretting buying a new 15" rMBP... almost...
     
  10. UBS28 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    #10
    During the event was said that OS 10.9 will allocate up to 1 gb VRAM to an integrated GPU. How much VRAM is allocated depends on how much VRAM is needed. So the VRAM of the integrated GPU will vary in OS 10.9 with a maximum of 1 gb.
     
  11. OverpricedJunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    #11
    wait a second... isn't the difference between the Intel iris and the iris pro more vram? Does that mean that we could be seeing iris pro-like performance with the Intel iris integrated graphics?
     
  12. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #12
    No the difference is not VRAM. What people mean by VRAM is dedicated memory space for GPU operations. Storing textures, framebuffer and so on. The Iris Pro has a 128MB cache that simple helps reduce the load on bandwidth of the main memory. It has nothing to do with size.
    How much VRAM you set aside for a iGPU is just a decision that should never affect performance. It used to be fixed so at times a too big part was set aside for it while at other times some gpu stuff could have used more. Now a game can simply load textures and the VRAM will grow as required while not taking too much space when all it has to do is handle a couple of Windows on the Desktop.
     
  13. OverpricedJunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013

Share This Page