Resolved Mavericks issues with older applications

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by highpass, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. highpass, Oct 11, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2013

    highpass macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #1
    If, after upgrading to 10.9, an app crashes due to a graphics related extension problem, is it possible to copy over the relevant extension from 10.8 and then tell said app to use it - without overwriting the 10.9 versions?

    Hopefully this layman explanation makes sense to somebody. Below is an example of the issue.

    Code:
    VM Regions Near 0x79d058ae:
        __LINKEDIT             00000000495bb000-000000004961a000 [  380K] r--/rwx SM=COW  [B]/System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/GeForceGLDriver[/B]
    --> 
        __TEXT                 000000008feb1000-000000008fee4000 [  204K] r-x/rwx SM=COW  /usr/lib/dyld
    
    Dyld Error Message:
      Symbol not found: _OTInitInetAddress
      Referenced from: /Applications/[app name].app/Contents/MacOS/[app name]
      Expected in: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/CoreServices
    The application in question hasn't been updated since 2010 and is no longer supported by the developers. It worked fine all the way up until 10.9.

    ----------

    Could a mod please rename this topic "10.8 extensions in 10.9" please
     
  2. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    This is not possible. My suggestion is if the application is no longer being supported that you stay on 10.8 until you can find a replacement application.
     
  3. highpass thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #3
    Ok.

    Is the problem due to the system extensions or something else such as the nvidia driver - if the latter is there a chance an update may fix the issue?
     
  4. Bear, Oct 11, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2013

    Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #4
    Looking at what little you posted and you apparently edited out the application name, anyway with what you posted from the error, the application will need updates to work in 10.9.

    Edit: If there any reason why you masked the application name (Vectorworks 2009)?
     
  5. highpass thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    #5
    Is there something else I could attach that could help you further diagnose the issue?

    The application won't be updated as the devs only focus on their current/last release (which is understandable). Might there be a way of using the relevant resources of the latest version in the 2009 version?

    Yes the obvious solution is to buy 2014 but after testing for a few days I can't justify the price tag; 2014 is slow in comparison to 2009 on 10.8*, plus the third party scripts I rely on won't be updated for 2014.

    I masked the app name simply because I felt the issue ought be looked at generically, but in hindsight see that was... unhelpful.

    Thanks for the help so far.

    *so slow in fact that my temporary solution is running 2009 in Parallels with a 10.8 install - even that is faster than 2014 native!
     
  6. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #6
    Either go with the Parallels solution or don't update OS X on your Mac. Those are your real choices.
     
  7. highpass thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
  8. sowayan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #8
    Hi HighPass

    Could you contact me privately at sowayan@gmail.com? I am interested in knowing more about the slowness you encountered in VW 2014.
     
  9. jimwild100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    #9
    I didn't want to accept that I have to reinstall 10.8 right away. I'm on Vectorworks 2008 and suspect we will not be upgrading for some time.....
    [EDIT: also the hasp dongle now works on 10.9 it didn't on 10.8 and I had to be instal the runtime every time I debuted]

    As a full explanation of the ins and outs wasn't given [sorry Bear, I appreciate you will know far more than me] I thought I'd dig some more.
    This is similar, but not the same object.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5545981?tstart=0

    So re error:
    Expected in: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/CoreServices

    So I searched my system for that file, though this is a binary and not readable.

    Since my back up was pre 10.5.8 (I wiped, then installed 10.7 and then 10.8 and latterly mindlessly accepted 10.9 upgrade) I routed around on this and see the framework is v.different.
    So I find mention of the symbol OTInitTAddress in one file /CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/OSServices.framework/Versions/A/Headers/OpenTransportProviders.h
    This file doesn't exist in the 10.9 system.

    Is there not a way of adding the code for the relevant symbol in to one of the the 10.9 framework Headers/ files? I ask with a blind idea that these things are that simple and without any clue of how these frameworks cores services things work.

    Many thanks,
    Jim.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    In simple terms - was there a fix to this?

    I want to get my Vectorworks 2008 working with Mavericks.

    cheers

    :)
     
  11. pascchitella macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    #11
    Did you ever get this resolved? I have VW 2012 that stopped working with 10.10. I contacted VW and they said to upgrade, for a measly $3100. I don't use VW very often, it isn't worth the money. I am switching to Autocad but have a bunch of legacy drawings I need to convert. I don't get it, I can get the Adobe Suite for $54 a month, why wouldn't VectorWorks do the sam kind of thing?
     

Share This Page