Mavericks killed my Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by digitalhen, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. digitalhen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #1
    Obviously, it's most likely an isolated case, but a word of warning - OSX Mavericks caused by Mac Pro to fail to boot - just booting to a grey screen.
     
  2. IceMacMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #2
    I feel your pain because I've been there. Because I've been stung by loading up on day 1 (or week 1 or even month 1) I avoid early adoption like a plague.
     
  3. digitalhen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    Honestly - this is such a pain. No disaster, my data is stored separately, but WHAT A PAIN.

    Does anyone know how to abort a broken install like this? I can't even get the DVD drive to open to get that in to recover.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    reboot and hold left click down to open drive door at boot.

    Has to be a wired mouse to work.
     
  5. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #5
    Rats. I feel your pain.

    This is one of the reasons why I run an internal clone of the boot SSD. I installed Mavericks with the knowledge that if it crapped out, I could always restore from the clone. Although I held my breath as it took several minutes for the machine to reboot after the "less than one minute" remaining graphic appeared. Sigh of relief.
     
  6. stjames70 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #6
    wowzers!

    Well, I was just about to upgrade to Mavericks on my iMac and MacPro. I am going to back up the boot drives this instant before I try the update
     
  7. MacMilligan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #7
    I do daily CCC backups to a spare HDD, so I'm never worried when upgrading. I also have a time machine on my NAS. Always boot into your spare HDD just to make sure it actually works too haha. I had a professor that had a "spare" that was dead when we needed it.

    Mavericks is up and running fine on my MacBook Pro. I'm going to mess around with it for a day or so before moving my Mac Pro over.
     
  8. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Hi digitalhen Sorry to hear about your problem. Though good that you had your files in another separate HD Like what others suggested, a clone of your main HD would come in handy. I'll wait for awhile before Mavericks becomes more stable.
     
  9. sbarton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    #9
    Boot your TM drive and recover to just before you upgraded? You do have a TM drive in your mac pro don't you?
     
  10. digitalhen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #10
    No time machine - all safely rsync'd to my Synology box and Backblazed away. I think I'll start doing a daily clone of the drive though.

    So, the left click worked, and I managed to get the DVD in, but that refused to boot too! The solution in the end was to install Mavericks on a spare drive using my laptop.... boot from that, then switch the startup disk back to my original drive.

    i.e. Lots of hassle.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  11. applegeek897 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #11
    I put my install on before I left for school, hopefully everything is sweet when I get back.
     
  12. Lesser Evets macrumors 68040

    Lesser Evets

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    #12
    Did you wait about an hour on the grey screen?

    My MacMini loaded it up, "installed" it, then restarted and stayed on a grey screen for almost a whole hour… then it popped up with a Mavericks screen and a long time later my desktop came up.

    I have no idea what the system was doing, but it was doing something for a very long time.
     
  13. Fastsavage macrumors member

    Fastsavage

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    #13
    I managed to upgrade OK but hung on install "less than a minute" for 15 minutes then away we went - all seems OK so far so good.
     
  14. Game64 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #14
    Installed on my 09 Mac Pro, went off w/o a hitch.
     
  15. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #15
    If you can access another Mac, I'd suggest using Lion Diskmaker to make a bootable USB installer. Hold option at start and boot from it.

    http://liondiskmaker.com/

    Get the beta version for Mavericks support.
     
  16. Swampus macrumors 6502

    Swampus

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Location:
    Winterfell
    #16
    Aye. This happened to me too, except maybe closer to 30 minutes. I was just about to do a restart when it finally finished. There have been several similar reports of "less than a minute" taking somewhat longer than an actual minute.
     
  17. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #17
    It has been confirmed in the Mavericks sub-forum that the final second can take up to 10-15 minutes. Just be patient and let the installer finish.
     
  18. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #18
    I don't know what it's doing but when I installed Mavericks and it rebooted, Little Snitch when bezerk with popups for what seemed like connections to my Safari bookmarks, maybe... I couldn't select any of the Little Snitch options so mashed the mouse button without looking past the first few warnings.
     
  19. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #19
    I have a theory that when these isoltated failures happen it's due to a latent issue. I.e., the hard drive was beginning to fail and the heavy-duty operation of installing a new OS trips the fault (because it performs a lot of disk operations and the files are high-stakes ones).

    Heh, well, just an idea. Obviously it's due to something rare.

    BTW, I updated my MBA and it took quite awhile -- more than an hour, I think -- though I wasn't paying much attention so I don't know what it hung on.
     
  20. gavinstubbs09, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2013

    gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #20
    Upgrading right now on 2 MBAs and 1 rMBP then eventually a Mac Pro 5,1. If any fails I'm screwed, didn't make a backup of anything!

    Update: Everything has gone well without an issue. The MP was fine an working on a Late 2012 iMac & mid 2012 MBP right now.
     
  21. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #21
    Worked perfectly for me.

    I think the thread title could do with being changed though... "killed" implies it actually irreparably damaged the Mac Pro.
     
  22. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #22
    I installed it on a scratch disk. Im going to wait for 10.9.1 to install on my main boot ssd
     
  23. digitalhen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #23
    Fair point, but given what I had to do to get it back, it normally would have required a trip to the Apple Store. The 10.8 installation was relatively clean & recent, and the fact that the DVD install disc wouldn't boot wasn't a great sign.
     
  24. nox-uk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #24
    downloaded, updated and booted in under an hour.

    if it works on mine, it should work on most. My Mac OS boot disk is an SSD on a pcie card partitioned into 2, suffering from a windows 7->8->8.1 bootcramp install...

    both OS's worked fine. Isolated case I hope...

    Nox
     
  25. MassMacMan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Boston MetroWest
    #25
    Installed Mavericks on my Retina MBP a few weeks ago without a problem. When I installed it on a spare HD in my Mac Pro, I found out that my scanner app (EPSON Scan) is incompatible, and i use my scanner daily, so until Epson puts out a Mavericks-compatible scan app, I'm sticking with 10.8.5.

    Also, there's lots of reports that GPU benchmarks are way down running Mavericks, so be advised...
     

Share This Page