Mavericks memory management is amazing

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by bwat47, Oct 7, 2013.

1. bwat47 macrumors regular

The new memory management features are working extremely well!. I have a MBA with 4 gigs of ram. With mavericks it never touches swap, and it takes quite a lot of apps open to even make the memory compression go into effect. The cacheing seems very intelligent as well, the system always uses just under 4 gigs of ram and is very snappy when multitasking compared to lion, makes great use of all available memory. I'm very impressed with what they've done under the hood with this release.

Safari also seems to take far less memory than safari 6 in ML. Safari 6 "safari web content" process often used 600+mb of ram for me with just a few tabs open. Safari 7 has more web content processes but they all use very little ram, and the overall usage is far less than safari 6.

This release will be a must have for anyone with <8gb ram.

2. dastinger macrumors 6502a

dastinger

All these reports make me want to grab the GM and install it on my rMBP.

Must. Wait. For. Public. Release.

3. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

gorskiegangsta

That is good to know! Mountain Lion essentially forced me to upgrade to 16GB RAM since it often had trouble releasing gigabytes of inactive memory, with as low as 12MB free memory left available which, in turn, initiated paging, slowing my system to a crawl.

4. bwat47 thread starter macrumors regular

Yep, no more paging when there is no more free memory on maverick :) The memory compression doesn't seem to have any noticeable performance hit (or at the least not anywhere close to as noticeable as paging).

I just opened every single app in my dock (and I also have safari with 10-12 tabs open, system is just as responsive as it was before and no page file usage:

http://i.imgur.com/9WQRv9a.png