Mavericks Will Not Mount Toshiba Drive

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Fischer71, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. Fischer71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #1
    I was using a Toshiba Canivo V63600-F 1.5TB external USB drive on my MBP. It was working just fine. Then, Apple updated to Mavericks and the drive will not mount. Getting Support from both Apple and Toshiba is damn near impossible. Does anyone know what is going on with it?

    Many thanks.

    Dan
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. Fischer71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #3
    Yes, it does, but all the actions are grayed out. Also, I connected the drive to my wife's Mac and it ran there. Hers is also running Mavericks.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    Just doing a google search of that drive turns up quite a few people with the same problem across many different kinds of laptops. Windows and MacBooks.

    Some claim changing the USB cable fixes the problem.
    Some claim updating a driver from Toshiba.
    Some claim connecting to a powered USB hub.

    Which may work for you? I'm not sure.

    I did have a similar problem with a Lacie rugged USB3 external and it wasn't specifically a Mavericks problem.
    I had to download a driver from Lacie's website and it now works great on my MacBook Air.
    Prior to downloading the driver it would only work on my iMac or Mac Mini.
     
  6. babylonlarry macrumors newbie

    babylonlarry

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #6
    I have been using Toshiba Canvios. They come with Tuxera mac drivers to write NTFC. In 10.6.8 file would be red without the Mac Driver installed. upon going to 10.9.2, the drives would not be seen without installing tuxera.
     
  7. macross18, Apr 22, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2014

    macross18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #7
    deadd toshiba external 1TB

    I have a dead toshiba external too.


    I just went to the trash bag to retrieve it >.<
     
  8. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #8
    Interesting, a lot of people are reporting issues with the recent Mavericks Security Update. First, lets start with the basics (I know these sound stupid, but they have fixed issues for me in the past):

    SMC Reset (as suggested by simsaladimbamba):

    Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)

    NVRAM/PRAM Reset:

    About NVRAM and PRAM

    Permissions and Verify Disk (couldn't find the AKB article):

    Launch Disk Utility (BootDrive>Applications>Utilities)
    Click on your primary partition on the left (Normally "Macintosh HD")
    You will automatically be entered into the "First Aid" tab
    Click Repair Disk Permissions
    Once done, reboot

    If that doesn't work:

    Launch Disk Utility
    Click on your primary drive (names vary, i.e. 250.00 GB Hitachi XXXXXX)
    You will be in the First Aid tab again
    Click Verify Disk
    If anything comes back bad, try to repair, preferably by booting from your Recovery Partition (reboot holding "R") and launching Disk Utility if needed.
     
  9. macross18, Apr 22, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2014

    macross18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #9
    Hi, thank you for your reply.

    The drive appears in Disk Utility but verified but not cannot repaired.

    I have no idea how to do your first advice. >.<


    DU says
    "incorrect number of thread records
    invalid volume directory
    Invalid file count
    Incorrect number of extended attributes, Access Control Lists, directory of hard links"
    Error, This disk needs to be repaired. Click repair disk."

    I click repair and I get the barber shop blue white gif.

    ----------

    It wont mount for me to copy the files! ARRRGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    ----------

    any success mounting it with anything other than mavericks? thanks in advance!
     
  10. macross18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #10
    I restarted and it mounted. Now crossing fingers all of it can be copied.

    I don't mind throwing the da$# disk but I want all those data!
     

Share This Page