max external monitor resolution for mbp 2010

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sungjupark, Dec 6, 2013.

  1. sungjupark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    I recently bought a new dell 2713HM monitor which supports 2340 1440 resolution.


    I bought a mini-dp to dp cable to connect the monitor but the maximum resolution I get is 1080p which is same with what I get from HDMI.

    I have searched this online but all I get is mini-dp to dp cable would do the job.

    Can anyone please help what could have gone wrong?
     
  2. Idgit macrumors 6502

    Idgit

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    #2
    I'm wondering about this, too. I have a 13" MacBook Pro with a NVIDIA GeForce 320M (256 MB). What external monitor resolution can this laptop comfortably drive? I'm looking at a 22" monitor with a native resolution of 1920 x 1080.

    Will I notice a lot of jerkiness or slow-downs when using the MBPro with this resolution on an external monitor?

     
  3. ecschwarz macrumors 65816

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #3
    It looks like yours should drive 2560 by 1600 pixels according to http://support.apple.com/kb/SP583. You shouldn't have any slowdowns or issues like that.

    As for the OP, I wonder if it has something to do with dual-link DVI vs. HDMI vs. DisplayPort...
     
  4. maigado macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #4
    I've read recently that hdmi, if that's what you're using, only supports up to 1920x1080. I don't know if that's true, but that's what I've seen.

    I'm in the market for a new external monitor that will play nice with my current model MBP and want to know what connectors are appropriate. I'd like to use HDMI since that's a port that has no other practical use. But if it won't display 1980x1200 or higher, I'll have to reconsider my monitor choices.

    It's possible that using the Thunderbolt ports, that I can get that higher resolution, though. I stopped into a local Apple Store earlier looking for info, but nobody knew enough about the issue to be of any help.
     
  5. ecschwarz macrumors 65816

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #5
    That is the case on the Retina MacBook Pros' HDMI ports - it tops out at 1920x1080...this is part of the reason we recently paired a 13" rMBP with 2 1080p displays where I work (same displays and one runs on Thunderbolt->DVI, one runs on HDMI->DVI, the other Thunderbolt port is for wired ethernet)
     
  6. maigado macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #6
    Using the Thunderbolt port, can't you get higher than 1920x1080 by connecting to the right port on the monitor (assuming the monitor has higher resolution than that)?

    That's what I'm looking to do with a new monitor. I want 1920x1200 or maybe even higher. Would Thunderbolt to HDMI get that higher res? Or Thunderbolt to DVI or something else?
     
  7. ecschwarz macrumors 65816

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #7
    Using Thunderbolt, you can go higher - I think it really depends on the monitor and the adapter if you're limited then (there are some weird restrictions that some manufacturers put in place when you use HDMI). If given the choice, I use DVI or DisplayPort at the monitor end...

    Going by the current MacBook Pros, you can max out at 2560x1600 on each display on Thunderbolt. For the HDMI port (not what you were planning to use, but for reference), the resolutions are: 1080p @ 60Hz, 3840x2160 @ 30Hz, 4096x2160 @ 24Hz

    Keep in mind that DVI maxes out at 1920x1200, unless you use the expensive dual-link DVI adapter, which then maxes out at 2560x1600. I'm guessing DisplayPort is where the 2560x1600 maximum can actually happen.
     
  8. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #8
    These were usable with the 27" cinema display in 2010. It was 2560 x 1440, identical to the thunderbolt display. These models can run an external display of that resolution, and it is supported. I know various quirks have come up in other threads, so you might hear back on something. As for the connector, displayport and mini displayport support that resolution. I'm assuming you're plugging into a displayport port on the monitor. If it's still showing 1080, did you check system preferences for available resolutions if the correct resolution was not immediately detected?
     
  9. maigado macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #9
    Thanks for all the input. It's a huge help for me.

    thekev, I've yet to get the new monitor, but I'm trying to get some info, which you folks are providing, that'll help me decide what to do. I'm currently using the retina screen on the MBP, of course, along with an old Samsung 245T external display. That one, connected via the HDMI port on the MBP to DVI on the 245T is displaying its native 1920x1080 resolution. I don't know if the refresh is the full 60hz or something less than that. The pref pane shows that it is, but that could be wrong. The whites are off at this point and there are some other color issues, too. Time for a new one.

    eschwarz, if I use the dual-link DVI approach, could I link to it via the HDMI port on the MBP or would I still be restricted to the resolutions and refresh rates you suggested?

    I'll probably get a new 1920x1200 display, though it's possible that I'll get a 27" monitor with higher resolution, instead. I'd prefer not to spend that extra money, though.

    Do display port cables plug directly into the Thunderbolt ports on the MBP or do they require an adapter?
     
  10. ecschwarz macrumors 65816

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #10
    I don't know what model you have (I'm assuming it's a rMBP because of the HDMI port mention - I don't think there was ever an HDMI-to-dual-link-DVI adapter made. Dual-link DVI is sort of a dying technology that was used to drive those big 30" Apple Cinema Displays (and other large displays) before DisplayPort took off as a protocol. The adapter for mini-DisplayPort to dual-link DVI is also is expensive and somewhat finicky. If your monitor has alternatives (it sounds like it does), I'd avoid it (unless you got a great deal on an old 30" Cinema Display).

    I think the 1920x1080 maximum over the HDMI port on rMBPs is probably more of an artificial limitation to ensure that it's mostly used for TVs or smaller displays without weird refresh rates or other things. If you notice, this cable even has that limitation when you use the Thunderbolt/mini DisplayPorts to run an HDMI device: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10246&cs_id=1024603&p_id=9473&seq=1&format=2

    "Note that this cable supports a maximum resolution of 1920x1080 when connected to a Mac computer."

    The DisplayPort cables are much better - they're similar in design and style to HDMI cables, so a lot less cumbersome than DVI cables. You'd need a mini-DisplayPort to DisplayPort cable, since the Thunderbolt port is the same connector (and carries the same signals as) the mini-DisplayPort found on prior Macs. It's also a fraction of the price: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10246&cs_id=1024606&p_id=6007&seq=1&format=2
     
  11. maigado macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #11
    OK. That's a great help, eschwarz. I do have a 15" rMBP. I'll forget about the dual-link DVI thing and look for a monitor that works with mini-DP to DP.
     
  12. sungjupark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #12
    I got my 27' at 2560*1440 and it works nicely. When using Aperture it slows a bit, but my system is slow with Aperture 3.1 and my huge library anyway :cool:..............

    sry for late reply I posted the same question many places and forgot this one.

    ----------

    Sorry for my delayed feedback. I left the same question everywhere and I forgot about this one.

    And no. It has nothing to do with cables or settings. It is pure Mavericks problem and you should do this thing called EDID override.

    read this: https://discussions.apple.com/message/23853239#23853239

    ----------

    Sorry for my delayed feedback. I left the same question everywhere and I forgot about this one.

    And no. It has nothing to do with cables or settings. It is pure Mavericks problem and you should do this thing called EDID override.

    read this: https://discussions.apple.com/message/23853239#23853239

    ----------

    Sorry for my delayed feedback. I left the same question everywhere and I forgot about this one.

    And no. It has nothing to do with cables or settings. It is pure Mavericks problem and you should do this thing called EDID override.

    read this: https://discussions.apple.com/message/23853239#23853239
     
  13. robododge macrumors newbie

    robododge

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    #13

Share This Page