Max Hard Drive Size (PowerPC OS X 10.5)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Brannigan's Law, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. Brannigan's Law macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    What is the max hard drive size (for a non boot drive) on a PowerPC running OS X 10.5? I'm getting mixed results when searching online. Is it 2.2TB, or can I get up to 3TB?

    I ask because I have two 3TB hard drives set up in RAID 1. It seems to be working and verify disk says that the drives are "OK." However, I want to make sure that this is stable before I start using it heavily.

    This is why I ask. A number of years ago, I was able to get a 200GB drive to work on Windows XP (before to SP1), when there was a 137GB limit. However, I learned a big lesson when I came to find that data written past the boundary line would wrap around to the front of the file system and overwrite existing files. I'm sure you can see why I'd prefer to avoid this again.
     
  2. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
  3. ppcg4mac macrumors 6502

    ppcg4mac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Northwest Kansas
    #3
    It is completely machine dependent, download the 10.5 compatible version of Mactracker here. This will tell you if your machine has a limit on HD size.
     
  4. Brannigan's Law, Dec 13, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2012

    Brannigan's Law thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #4
    Sorry, here are the specs.

    Mactracker Details

    Project Name: Cypher
    Introduced: October 2005
    Discontinued: August 2006
    Model Identifier: PowerMac11,2
    Model Number: A1117 (2.0 GHz)
    Order Number: M9590LL/A (2.0 GHz), M9591LL/A (2.3 GHz), M9592LL/A (dual 2.5 GHz)
    Support Status: Vintage
    Weight and Dimensions: 44.5 - 48.8 lbs., 20.1" H x 8.1" W x 18.7" D

    Processor: PowerPC 970MP (G5)
    Processor Speed: 2.0, 2.3, or dual 2.5 GHz
    Number of Cores: 2 per processor
    Cache: 64K (instruction), 32K (data) L1, 1MB L2 per core
    System Bus: 1.0, 1.15, or dual 1.25 GHz
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    If you format the drive with GUID, not bootable in a PPC Mac, you can put in any drive size currently on the market.
     
  6. Brannigan's Law thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #6
    Currently, the two 3TB hard drives (RAID 1) are using the Apple Partition Map scheme. I know that this is old school, but can I leave it like this, or does it need to be reformatted with GUID.
     
  7. rabidz7, Dec 13, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2012

    rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 gigabytes

    the drive size is unlimited
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    I don't know how you were even able to format those drives as APM. Disk Utility won't do it. I strongly advise you to change them to GUID.
     
  9. 666sheep, Dec 13, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2012

    666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    OP, if you don't mind, please post a screenshot of this HDD in DU, especially partition scheme. It's second time on MR when someone did partition over 2.2TB with APM (what seems to be impossible APM specs-wise).

    I second Intell's advice: reformat them to GUID if you want to be sure that data written over 2.2TB will be safe.
     
  10. Brannigan's Law thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #10
    Sorry, I already reformatted the drives to GUID. I had a problem with this before, but it worked fine now. The drives were indeed in Apple Partition Map. I'm not sure how the heck it was done, but it was. The weird thing was, when I looked at the individual drives they both had two partitions. One was something like 256MB (I can't remember) and the other was the remaining was the 3TB. Weird.

    ----------

    Also, this was done in disk utility. I really wish that I could post a picture, as I agree that this definitely sounds dubious.
     

Share This Page