Max memory for Intel-based iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jgreenoc, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. jgreenoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #1
    What's the maximum amount of memory that can be placed in an Intel-based iMac. I want to upgrade the hard drive and memory if possible. I have 8MB of memory now.

    thanks,
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    No you don't. OSX wouldn't even consider booting on 8Mb of RAM.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    My LC 575, purchased in 1994, has more RAM than that (36MB). Look again. :p
     
  5. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #5
    I can't even think of where in the system there could be 8mb of any memory. The L2 cache isn't even that high yet.
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Hard drive cache maybe?
     
  7. reclusivemonkey macrumors 6502

    reclusivemonkey

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire, UK

Share This Page