max out mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bushman1, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. bushman1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #1
    what is absolute max memory that you can cram in. i know that you can get 32 gigs. and are there any processor upgrades for a quad 3?
     
  2. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #2
    32 GBs is tops.

    AFAIK 3GHz is tops too...for now.
     
  3. gojaromeiginla macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #3
    It's expensive to fully cram a Mac Pro with every feature possible. It comes up to over $18000 US.
     
  4. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #4
    Is there any use for such a configuration really? what can someone do with 32GB of RAM that they cant do with 8GB?
     
  5. bushman1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #5
    processing simulations on a global scale, i don't know just wondering
     
  6. GSMiller macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    Yea if you max out the hardware and add AppleCare it's $18,023. I was curious how much I would save with my student discount and it was about $1,800 cheaper.

    I find it quite ironic that you can get a 3 year warranty for $250 on a product that costs more than most peoples car :D
     
  7. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #7
    RAM is the limiting factor for abinitio quantum mechanics and DFT calculations. The more you've got, the bigger the system you can study. It's mostly done on clusters, actually but an octo with 32 GB...
     
  8. bushman1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #8
    i know how much it is from apple I am looking for 3rd party upgrades. What about DDR3 memory
     
  9. Moof1904 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #9
    OWC will sell you 16 gigs (8x2) for the Mac Pro for around $999. I don't know about 32.
     
  10. bushman1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #10
    I have seen a way to cram a fith hdd into it by replacing the second optical drive with a special platform mounted with a hdd, pretty assome!
     
  11. termina3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    #11
    Mac Pro isn't DDR3-compatible.
     

Share This Page