Max Payne 3 PC - a fix for the macbook bug

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by whitedragon101, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. whitedragon101 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #1
    If anyone else has this problem here is a fix to get the game going.

    MY SYSTEM : Macbook Pro 2011 17" 2.2ghz quad core, AMD 6750m
    PROBLEM :
    Max Payne 3 displays 0mb of video memory in the graphics settings and will not let you change anything. Also performance is sluggish and jittery even at the 1024*768 default that you can't change.

    SOLUTION :
    Go to the Max Payne folder in your documents folder. Find the graphics xml file and place a 0 in the DirectX line. This will change the Directx to 9 instead of 11. For some reason DirectX 11,10,10.1 all run terribly slowly with lots of jitters and huge loading times for levels. Also set your resolution and other settings to whatever you want.

    OBSERVATION:
    They might fix this bug but given its a Macbook Pro running Windows in bootcamp they may not get around to fixing it for us hybrid system game players.
     
  2. dancerinred macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    #2
    Thanks for the info! I got a MacBook Air Core i7, 4GB RAM and the Intel 3000 chipset. How much RAM and memory does your chipset have? Is MP3 playable or lagging? I'm trying to figure out if it'd work on the MacBook Air. You using BootCamp or Parallels?
     
  3. angrydog macrumors member

    angrydog

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
  4. ryanellis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #4
    Agreed- thanks a lot!

    Quick question, though- even when I do this, the game only sees 512MB even though I have the same 1GB card as you (in fact, I have the exact same laptop- good taste!). Is the game only seeing my crappy on board card??
     
  5. aquaboy, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012

    aquaboy macrumors regular

    aquaboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks for that fix, changing it to 0 worked for me...

    But my questions are

    does my card support directX11?
    Am I missing out on a lot of graphics effects in DirectX9?
    Is it a bug in the game or should my card run at higher setting even though it says zero memory on everything else but directX9?

    I'm running iMac 27' in Bootcamp windows7
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M graphics processor with 512MB of GDDR5 memory
    2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 with 6MB on-chip shared L3 cache
    4GB (two 2GB) of 1333MHz DDR3 memory

    Thanks anyway for the fix.
     
  6. phlipanderson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    thank you for this fix! i am running this and had problems running the game.
     
  7. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #7
    Yes the HD6770m does support dx11.

    There are a few graphics effects in dx10 and dx11 that you will not get, but dx9 still does a nice job.

    This problem with 0MB memory is a bug in the game. Rockstar have just got back to me today and said they have released a patch and the 0MB memory bug is in there.


    "Please restart your game and download the latest update. Many of the common issues reported at launch have been addressed by this patch, so we would ask you again test the game post-patch and let us know if the issue still occurs.
    Issues fixed by tonight's patch are below:
    Fixed reported issues of the video card reporting having 0MB of video memory available. Users unable to adjust Graphics options because of this (Also helps fix stuttering on some video cards)."

    - Rockstar support 2nd June 2012

    ----------

    I don't think so. When you use bootcamp Windows only sees the AMD GPU.

    Hopefully the rockstar patch will fix the issue (se my post above).
     
  8. pralexis macrumors newbie

    pralexis

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    #8
    Hi,
    I have iMac2011 and in Max Payne 3 in grafic settings, I cant change or apply any performance. Do you know how can i change settings?
    Cuz everything is in a Verry High and I want to change to High or Normal but settings can apply.
     
  9. aquaboy macrumors regular

    aquaboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    @ whitedragon101 - Thank you for the update!!!! Played a few hours tonight and it does look nice, even in DX9
     
  10. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #10
    Go to the Max Payne folder in your documents folder. Find the graphics xml file. This contains all the graphics settings. Simply subtract 1 from each performance number (for shaders, textures, reflections etc) and launch the game until performance is acceptable. If your iMac 2011 was the high spec version you should have no problem at 1920x1200 dx9 with all settings at medium/high. I'm running that with liquid smooth frame rates on a Macbook Pro.
     
  11. pralexis macrumors newbie

    pralexis

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    #11

    Thanks!!! I have iMac i5 2,5GHz, 4GB and HD6750. I have problem with game, I dont know how to set graphic without problems (lags in game). I set resolution on 1680x1050 and all to normal and have problem with game. Which settings in graphic can help me? I only want to play game without lags.

    (Sorry for my english)
     
  12. pralexis macrumors newbie

    pralexis

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    #12
    Problem was in DirectX11, I change it to 9 and now Max is great :D

    Thank you, all!!! :)
     
  13. aquaboy macrumors regular

    aquaboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    New patch is out that fixes this bug.
    Anyone confirm it works, I've not had chance yet to try.
    What's the best settings you can run at with new patch before game becomes laggy?
     
  14. Code37m3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #14
    Have been playing in DX11

    I was having the same exact problem what I ended up doing was deleting my current graphics driver and downloading the 12.6 beta driver from amd's site... Ive been playing MP3 on my Mac on very high settings in dx11 works great. Have had that driver for 2days no issues. 6770m Dx9 sucks you might as well buy the game for console
     
  15. whitedragon101 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #15
    Yep the patch works. It was downloaded automatically by steam.

    I am playing everything on high/very high in dx11 at 1920x1200.
     
  16. aquaboy macrumors regular

    aquaboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Yeah same here, patch applied. DX11 and High/Very High settings... No stuttering or frame drops etc. Looks amazing....
     
  17. skynet007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #17
    can u pls tell me where can i get this latest patch from, where it will be free to download,,,pls its urgent,,,pls reply,just send me the link where u downloaded it from
     
  18. podi4, Jun 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2014

    podi4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    #18
    Hi guys,

    I just bought the game at the summer sale. Unfortunately, I have some graphics problems. For example, the smoke is black which makes it nearly impossible to aim or windows are "solid" and white and one cannot look through them.

    Any solutions?
    I am running the game on an MacBook Air 2013 with Intel HD 5000 and 8GB of Ram.

    Is there any way to disable smoke altogether?

    Kind regards,
    podi
     

Share This Page