Max Ram Macbook Pro Mid 2010 2.4GHz Core Duo

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by radam87, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. radam87 macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #1
    I've read that the MBP mid 2010 with core duo will take 16gigs but other sauces say 8gigs.

    Can anyone clarify?
     
  2. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    "The "Mid-2009" and "Mid-2010" MacBook Pro models support 1066 MHz PC3-8500 DDR3 SO-DIMMs and officially and unofficially support a maximum of 8 GB of RAM with one odd exception.

    "Specifically, as discovered by OWC, the 13-Inch "Mid-2010" MacBook Pro models (and only the 13-Inch models) -- the MacBook Pro "Core 2 Duo" 2.4 13" Mid-2010 and "Core 2 Duo" 2.66 13" Mid-2010 identified by MacBookPro7,1 -- can support up to 16 GB of RAM with dual 8 GB memory modules if they are running OS X 10.7.5 or higher, have been updated to use the latest EFI, and are equipped with proper specification memory modules."

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...15-17-mid-2009-how-to-upgrade-ram-memory.html
     
  3. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #3
    I can confirm all of the above but did not understand the part regarding EFI?
     
  4. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #5
    Fantastic - currently trying this. I'll keep you posted. Thank you.
     
  5. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #6
  6. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #7
    If you're sure you used the right RAM and met the other conditions, and it matters to you, it might be worth contacting Every Mac and/or OWC, as they're generally reliable sources.
     
  7. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #8
    [​IMG] http://imgur.com/a/Km5Ah
    [​IMG]

    I've tried to attach an image of the ram here.

    http://imgur.com/a/Km5Ah
     
  8. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    Looks good to me. Try one stick at a time. It's not unusual to get a bad stick. (I don't recall if it matters which slot you put one stick in, but it might.) OWC is still selling this RAM (their own brand of course) for your machine, so they still think it works.
     
  9. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #10
    2010 15" MBP - 8GB Max
    2010 13" MBP - 16GB Max

    Weird... but true.
     
  10. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #11
    I'm struggling to get 16 gb to work on my 13 inch. Could be a couple of bad modules but I'm going to go with 8gb of Crucial RAM.
     
  11. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #13
  12. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    They use different chipsets, not so weird really.
     
  13. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #15
    Sounds like the case. Also, remember you want 16GB of the slowest memory you can find, as the newest fastest modules may not clock down well as these are PC3-8500 or PC3-10600.

    Weird in the sense that the 13" (considered lower power) had a higher capability than the 15" flagship.
     
  14. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Yea, it's weird than the Penryn C2D could do 16GB when the Arrandale i5/i7 was newer. But 8GB was still a lot of RAM back then, you had to go with Clarksfield if you wanted 16GB (4x4GB). I'm sure there's a good reason it was that way. And, in 2011 when Apple updated the MacBook Pro 15" you could have 16GB
     
  15. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #17
    .[/QUOTE]

    These are the ones I got: http://imgur.com/a/Km5Ah

    Since swapped them for 2 x 4 gig Crucial
     
  16. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #18
    I upgraded my Mid 2010 13" MacBook Pro from 4GB of RAM to 8GB of RAM years ago. But now I want 16GB of RAM and am having a hard time finding compatible RAM.
     
  17. radam87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    radam87

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    #19
    I could not find any that worked for me
     
  18. Apples555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
  19. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #21
    Dont forget at least on the 15" 2010 MBP, you can get a new EFI firmware update thanks to Sierra 10.12.4.

    Either update to 12.4 or do a full install of the 10.12.4 and it will install a hidden firmware update thats not available separately on the Apple site.

    The Sierra 10.12.4 update or full installer has hidden EFI updates for MANY macs that can run Sierra.
     
  20. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #22
    What does the EFI update affect? It probably doesn't let the 2010 upgrade to 16GB RAM, right?
     
  21. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #23
    Interesting question, as far as I know, its just a security update, but Apple never published information about this batch of 12.4 EFI updates. Would be cool if it allowed 16GB, I'll have to test that out.
     

Share This Page