Max RAM of new Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cave Man, Oct 5, 2013.

  1. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #1
    Has anyone anything about the maximum RAM the new Mac Pro will take?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    Depends on the Mac Pro. 4,1 and 5,1 Dual CPU machines will take 128 GB RAM. Single CPU will take a max of 64GB Under 10.9.

    Edit - Forget what I said:eek: Read the post wrong:eek::eek::eek::eek:

    Lou
     
  4. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #4
    are u sure about single cpu? According to a thread here and a post on OWC blog .. the machine with single cpu will not boot with more than 48gb .. dual systems will take 128 .. so im sure the nMP will do 128 as well
     
  5. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    That's the same as the 5,1 that I currently have (128 Mav, 96 ML, L). So there's no increase with the new MP?
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  7. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #8
    The current Mac Pro has 8 RAM slots, the new model looks to have 4. So it is unlikely there will be an increase in the maximum capability.
     
  8. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    The hardware would be capable of 256GB with 4 x 64GB DIMMs, but Apple are unlikely to have been interested in developing for that when it would be such a tiny audience who would want more than 128GB and then spend $4,500-$6,400 to get it.

    ----------

    Newer Mac Pro supports LR-DIMMs though, where the old one was never updated to. That means 32GB and 64GB capacities can be used.
     
  9. Cave Man thread starter macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #10
    Thanks much. Do you know if Mavericks supports 256 gb?
     
  10. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #11
    We'll probably only find out when someone tries to put some 64GB DIMMs in the new Mac Pro and reports it. They have a similar per GB cost as 32GB DIMMs so I'm sure someone will put them in, although they max out at 1600MHz at the moment I think.
     
  11. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #12
    At the moment then they have said Maverick supports 128Gb, and the 5,1 supports 128Gb on the Dual Socket version running the DP of Mavericks.

    Am pretty sure that they said this in the Keynote when announcing Mavericks
     

Share This Page